Presidential Committee to Examine Building Names

Update 7/7/2020 - Board of Governors votes to remove name from campus building
The Marshall University Board of Governors this morning voted unanimously to remove the name from Jenkins Hall on the Huntington campus.

Jenkins Hall, Marshall University

Marshall University President Jerome A. Gilbert formed the Presidential Committee to Examine Building Names at Marshall University in April 2018 in response to an inquiry from a student about the naming of Jenkins Hall and its association with a Confederate Civil War general.

President Gilbert charged the committee with examining all building names on campus to determine if contextualization or additional action is warranted. He further instructed the committee to submit a report to him during the 2018-19 academic year.

The president appointed 12 members to the committee, representing students, faculty, staff and the university’s Board of Governors.

Public Comment Opportunities

The Marshall and Huntington communities were invited to attend a public information session on Wednesday, Nov. 28, at 5:30 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center, Room BE-5.

An online survey to solicit public comments was made available Dec. 3-14 via a link on this page.

Thank you to everyone who submitted input!


Committee Members

Ms. Christie Kinsey, Secretary, Marshall University Board of Governors – Committee Chairman

Mr. Travis Bailey, Director, Physical Plant
Mr. Hunter Barclay, President, Student Government Association
Ms. Michelle Barbour, Student Advocate and Success Specialist
Dr. Teresa Eagle, Dean, College of Education and Professional Development
Dr. Kelli Johnson, Head of Access Services and Outreach, MU Libraries and Online Learning / Co-Director, President’s Commission on Diversity, Equality, and Inclusion
Dr. Michael Woods, Associate Professor of History
Ms. Autumn Lee, President, Native American Student Organization
Dr. Timothy Melvin, Assessment Coordinator, Office of Academic Affairs
Mr. John Michael Ross, President, Students for a Democratic Society
Ms. DeShonda Stewart, President, Black United Students
Mr. Nick Wright, Director of Fraternity and Sorority Life

Committee Contact

Mr. Lacy Ward Jr., Consultant to the Committee

Photo Credits:  Special Collections, Morrow Library, Marshall University