New scholarship at Marshall honors founding dean of College of Science

A scholarship has been established in honor of E.S. “Steve” Hanrahan, former chair of the Marshall University department of chemistry and the founding dean of MU’s College of Science, who passed away on  Feb. 20.  He was 83.

The recipient of the Dr. E. S. “Steve” Hanrahan Scholarship will be a full-time or part-time sophomore who is majoring in chemistry and has the greatest increase in overall GPA from the freshman to sophomore year. It is a one-time award.

“My father, Steve Hanrahan, was always focused on helping students academically succeed,” said Elizabeth Hanrahan, associate dean in Marshall’s College of Information Technology and Engineering. “I heard recently from one of his former students who was struggling in their chemistry course, and they talked with my father who convinced them to keep persevering. That former student had a 35-year career in chemistry. My father would have been delighted for a scholarship to be awarded in his name for the most improved chemistry student.”

Steve Hanrahan joined Marshall as assistant professor in 1963. He served as chair of the chemistry department from 1967 through 1977 and in 1977 became the first dean of the College of Science. He stepped down as dean in 1994, and retired in 1997.

In addition to Elizabeth Hanrahan, he is survived by his wife, Mary, his daughters Veronica Hanrahan Heide  and Katherine Hanrahan, and daughter by choice Emma Surratt Walters. All are Marshall graduates.

Anyone wishing to donate to the scholarship may contact Rick Robinson in the Marshall Foundation by phone at  ext.6-7081, or by e-mail at