President of the Institute for Women’s Policy Research to speak Friday

DrHeidiHartmannDr. Heidi Hartmann, president of the Institute for Women’s Policy Research (IWPR), will give a presentation Friday, April 5, at the Marshall University Foundation Hall, home of the Erickson Alumni Center.

The event, which begins at 7 p.m., will serve as the keynote address for the STAND for Women conference, and is free and open to the public.

“This is an amazing opportunity for the students at Marshall and the women of West Virginia to have here on campus an internationally recognized voice advocating for women-centered research and policy,” said Dr. Kat Williams, who is a member of the Women’s Studies Advisory Board and was instrumental in bringing the speaker to campus.

Hartmann is an economist, with a B.A. from Swarthmore College and M. Phil and Ph.D. degrees from Yale University, all in economics.  She also is a research professor at The George Washington University.  The IWPR is a Washington-based, scientific research organization that  Hartmann founded in 1987 to meet the need for women-centered, policy-oriented research.

Hartmann lectures internationally on women, economics and public policy, frequently testifies before the U.S. Congress, and is often cited as an authority in various media outlets, such as CNN, ABC News, The New York Times, and the NewsHour. She has published numerous articles in journals and books and her work has been translated into more than a dozen languages.

She is a coauthor of several IWPR reports and served as the chair of the Board of the American Academy of Political and Social Science.

Prior to founding IWPR, Hartmann was on the faculties of Rutgers University and the New School for Social Research and worked at the National Research Council/National Academy of Sciences.  In 1994, she received a MacArthur Fellowship Award for her work in the field of women and economics. She also received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Swarthmore College, an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree from Claremont Graduate University, the Wilbur Cross Medal for distinguished alumni of the graduate school of Yale University, and the 2012 Women of Vision Award from the National Organization for Women.

A reception will follow the event. For more information, contact Dr. Greta Rensenbrink, director of women’s studies, at