School of Pharmacy begins academic year with new faculty and staff

The School of Pharmacy has added seven new faculty members and four staff employees as it implements second-year curriculum and the expansion of research and outreach programs.

In making the announcement, Dean  Kevin Yingling said, “As our school continues to grow and we reach our full student capacity in 2016, our personnel infrastructure must expand as well.   I am excited to welcome this new cadre of educators and business professionals to our pharmacy family.”

The new faculty are listed by department:

Department of Pharmaceutical Science and Research

Jinsong Hao, Ph.D., assistant professor, is a specialist in the area of drug formulation and delivery, with experience in drug delivery to the inner ear and eye.  She was formerly with the University of Cincinnati.

Tim Long, Ph.D., assistant professor, is a medicinal chemist with a research focus in infectious disease. Long most recently served at the University of Georgia.

Inder Sehgal, Ph.D., professor, is a pharmacologist whose research focus has been in the areas of cancer and the toxicology of herbal products.  Over the past 15 years, Sehgal has conducted research and taught in the pharmacy program at North Dakota State University and the School of Veterinary Medicine at Louisiana State University.

Department of Pharmacy Practice, Administration, and Research

Elaine Cruse, Pharm.D., clinical assistant professor, has a shared position with Valley Health, where she practices medication therapy management in the area of diabetes.   Cruse is a certified diabetes educator.

Brian Gallagher, R. Ph., J. D., Director of Pharmacy Services for Marshall Health and assistant professor, has served as a legal expert for the American Pharmacists’ Association and is coordinating special projects for Marshall Health.

Angel Kimble, Pharm. D., BCPS, clinical assistant professor, has a shared position with Fruth Pharmacy, where she practices medication therapy management.   She has practiced with King’s Daughters and Holzer medical centers and taught at the University of Charleston.

Leesa Prunty, Pharm.D., clinical assistant professor, has a shared position with Cabell Huntington Hospital, where she practices in the area of pediatrics.  Prunty completed a residency at St. Mary’s Medical Center.

Department of Experiential Learning

Craig Kimble, M.H.A., M.B.A., Pharm.D., Director of Experiential Learning and assistant professor, most recently served as the Director of Pharmacy and Clinical Services for Fruth Corporation.  He begins his duties with Marshall University School of Pharmacy in September.


Also joining the School of Pharmacy are the following staff members:  Shane Lawrence, IT support specialist, Sr.; Kalina Grimm, B.A., administrative secretary, Sr.; Gail Rice, administrative associate; Jennifer Kennedy, M.A., director of student affairs and assessment, and Mellissa Clay, A.A., administrative secretary, Sr.

The  School of Pharmacy was granted candidate status by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education in 2013.  Candidate status is awarded to a Doctor of Pharmacy program that is currently recognized by ACPE with pre-candidate status and has students enrolled, but has not yet had a graduating class.