Marshall honored for creating tobacco-free campus

TobaccoFreeAward_11-18-13Marshall was honored recently for its efforts in creating a tobacco-free campus. A brief ceremony took place in the Memorial Student Center.

President Stephen J. Kopp received an award from Dr. Harry K. Tweel, medical director of the  Cabell-Huntington Health Department. The award was made on behalf of the Cabell County Coalition for a Tobacco-Free Environment, which is based out of the health department.

Amy Saunders, director of student health education programs at Marshall, said several groups including the Student Government Association, the Classified Staff Council, the Faculty Senate and the Board of Governors helped work on this policy.

“The policy is one of the first steps in changing the culture on campus regarding tobacco use,” Saunders said. “Now we must begin to work on enforcing the policy and helping those that are addicted to nicotine.”

Marshall has been tobacco free since July 2013.


Photo: Second from left, Dr. Harry K. Tweel, medical director of the Cabell-County Health Department, presents a plaque to President  Kopp in recognition of the University developing a tobacco-free campus. Also pictured are, left, Dr. Robert Stanton, assistant dean of experiential learning with the School of Pharmacy, and, right, Dr. Joseph Shapiro, dean of the  Medical School. Photo by Rick Haye.