General Faculty meeting to honor retirees, award winners April 29

Seventeen retiring faculty members will be honored for their combined 401 total years of service to Marshall when the spring general faculty meeting of the 2013-2014 academic year takes place Tuesday, April 29, beginning at 2 p.m. in the Playhouse of the Joan C. Edwards Performing Arts Center.

The agenda will include welcoming remarks by the Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Eldon Larsen; remarks from President Stephen J.  Kopp; recognition of retiring faculty by Larsen and presentation of faculty awards by Dr. John Winfrey. The awards include Faculty Distinguished Service, John and Frances Rucker Graduate Advisor of the Year, Distinguished Artists and Scholars, E. Pickens/G. Queen Excellence in Teaching, Marshall & Shirley Reynolds Outstanding Teacher, and the Charles E. Hedrick Outstanding Faculty Award.

All faculty, staff, students, and members of the public are invited to attend.  Following the meeting, a reception to honor the retiring and award-winning faculty will be held in the lobby of the Performing Arts Center.

Retiring faculty to be recognized and their years of service are:  Richard Emerson Abel, Integrated Science, 7; Dr. Daniel Babb, Chemistry, 41; Kathleen Bledsoe, Librarian, 24;  Dr. Laura Boswell, Special Education, 9; Dr. Elizabeth Evans, Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine, 11;  Dr. Jeanette Farmer, Special Education, 7;   Dr. Mary Jo Graham, Early Childhood Education, 20; Dr. Cynthia Kolsun, Leadership Studies, 3;   Dr. Glenda Lowry, Family and Consumer Science, 27: Dr. Jeffrey May, Biological Sciences, 22;  Dr. Clayton McNearney, Religious Studies, 42;  Dr. Mary B. Moore, English, 19;  Dr. Stephen O’Keefe, Psychology, 38;  Dr. Judith Silver, Mathematics, 29; Dr. David Allan Stern, Safety Technology, 37; Dr. John Walden, Family and Community Health, 31; and Dr. W. Joe Wyatt, Psychology, 34.