School of Medicine inducts new medical honor society members

AlphaOmegaAlphaInitiates_2015The Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine inducted 10 students, three residents and two faculty members into the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society April 16 at the Touma Medical Museum.

New inductees for the Class of 2015 are Amanda Adkins, Shane Cook, Andrew Martin, Casey Patick and Meaghan Tranovich. For the Class of 2016, inductees are Matthew Abadir, Hagger Ali, Kyle Burner, Jordan Hilgefort and Paul Viscuse.

Resident inductees for 2015 are Jesse Cottrell, M.D.; Carolyn Curtis, M.D.; and Joshua Hess, M.D. Anthony Alberico, M.D., professor and chairman in the department of neuroscience, and Justin Nolte, M.D., assistant professor in the department of neuroscience, are the faculty inductees for 2015.

Alpha Omega Alpha is the national medical honor society. The  Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha is one of 123 chapters across the country. Since the organization’s founding in 1902, more than 150,000 members have been elected to the society nationwide.