Yeager program welcomes the Dr. Daniel P. Babb Class of 2019

Eight exceptional high school students have been chosen as the next class to join the Society of Yeager Scholars.

The Dr. Daniel P. Babb Class of 2019, the 29th Yeager class, will start their studies this fall, as they experience an enhanced, interdisciplinary curriculum, and opportunities for leadership and travel outside of a traditional classroom.

The scholarship is a full ride to Marshall, covering all tuition and room and board. Students also get a personal computer and the opportunity to study in Oxford, England.

“Marshall University is very proud of the Yeager Scholars program and the great contribution it has made not only to the community, but to the state of West Virginia,” said Gary White, interim president.. “I am sure that this latest class of eight students which, by the way, includes four students from West Virginia, will excel academically and grow socially, just as other Yeager Scholars have done over the past 30 years. As Gen. Yeager once said, ‘this program is only for a very small, very select group of students, only the best.’ And, it appears we have chosen ‘only the best’ once again with the class of 2019.”

Students chosen for the Yeager program must qualify with the minimum 30 composite ACT or 1340 SAT score, as well as a 3.5 g.p.a., then go through multiple interviews.

“After a long application process I am confident that our interviewers have chosen a terrific incoming class of Yeager Scholars. I look forward to welcoming them to Marshall,” said Dr. Nicki LoCascio, interim dean of the Honors College.

DanBabbEach Yeager class bears the name of someone influential to the program. The Dr. Daniel P. Babb Class of 2019, is named after a longtime and beloved chemistry professor at Marshall. It is estimated Babb taught more than 15,000 students in 42 years at Marshall. He served as associate dean of the College of Science in 1986, and as chair of his department for 14 years. He was instrumental in developing the original curriculum for the Society of Yeager Scholars, and served as chair of the Academic Advisory Committee for most of the life of the program. Babb died in November 2014.

The Dr. Daniel P. Babb Class of 2019 includes:

  • Elizabeth Adams, from Elizabeth, West Virginia, is a senior at Wirt County High School and plans to major in biomechanics. Adams was named the top female academic athlete in West Virginia for the 2013-14 academic year. She is the senior class president and also runs her own knitting business.
  • Hunter Barclay, of Frostburg, Maryland, will graduate from Mountain Ridge High School with the top grade point average in his class. He hopes to major in energy management, with an emphasis in political science, with the aspiration of entering politics. Barclay is an AP Scholar with Distinction, an all-star Bible quizzer and active in the model United Nations.
  • Clayton Curry, from Ravenswood, West Virginia, attends Ravenswood High School. Curry will major in Biology and plans to attend medical school. He is a Boy Scout, the captain of his tennis team and an archer. He is a member of the show choir and was named to the state Honor Choir. Curry was recognized as an Ambassador for Justice by U.S. Attorney Booth Goodwin.
  • Victoria Endres, of St. Albans, West Virginia, attends St. Albans High School. She plans to double-major in English and History education. Endres is a lead vocalist for her church praise band and a volunteer with her local hospital and library. She will attend Governor’s Honors Academy this summer. Endres is the third Yeager Scholar to be named from St. Albans in two years.
  • Megan Haffner, of Waterford, Ohio, is a senior at Warren High School. Her major is Biology, and she plans to attend medical school. Haffner is heavily involved with the 4-H and FFA groups in her community and was a 4-H delegate to Argentina. She plays the oboe and participates in public speaking competitions.
  • Caroline Kimbro is a homeschooled student in Fort Washington, Pennsylvania. She plans to major in communications and international studies. Kimbro is a principle player on the violin in the Philadelphia Sinfonia Youth Orchestra. She received the AP Scholar Award and is the recipient of the Union League of Philadelphia Good Citizenship Award.
  • Kayleigh Nerhood, of Round Rock, Texas, is a senior at Cedar Ridge High School. She will major in Biology in hopes of becoming a physical therapist. Nerhood is an AP Scholar with Honor and earned a grade point average above 5.0 from 2012-15. She plays and referees soccer, and is president for the Health Occupations Students of America at her school.
  • Aaron Roberts, of Reedy, West Virginia, is a senior at Roane County High School. He plans to major in microbiology. Roberts is a National Merit Finalist. He was the field commander for the Roane County High School marching band and serves as Student Council president.