Longtime Marshall Pediatrics physician named West Virginia’s Pediatrician of the Year

NormanCottrillNorman C. Cottrill, D.O., a board-certified pediatrician with the department of pediatrics at the  Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine has been named the 2015  Pediatrician of the Year by the West Virginia Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Cottrill is an assistant professor of pediatrics and has been with Marshall Pediatrics since 1998.

“We are so pleased that Dr. Cottrill has been recognized with this honor,” said Dr. Joseph Evans, chairman of the department of pediatrics. “He is loved by his patients and their families and truly represents what a pediatrician should be. “

A 1987 graduate of the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine, Cottrill completed a residency in pediatrics at West Virginia University and has a clinical interest in ambulatory pediatrics. He practices at the Marshall Pediatrics Teays Valley office. In addition, he and Dr. Mary. S. “Mitzi” Payne, a pediatric neurologist with Marshall Neuroscience, evaluate and treat pediatric concussion patients at the Marshall University Medical Center.