Deadline for ‘Because of You’ awards nominations extended to July 1

The deadline for nominations from the public for the “Because of You” awards for the 2015 Coal Miners’ Celebration has been extended to July 1.

Miners, community members and others connected with the state’s coal mining industry will gather at Tamarack in Beckley Thursday, Oct. 1, to celebrate the past, present and future of coal mining in West Virginia with a reception and dinner.  The purpose of the annual event is to recognize those who play a role in the success of the state’s mining enterprise.

Nominations for the “Because of You” awards are requested for outstanding individuals or groups that have made, or are making, significant contributions to selected sectors of the mining enterprise ecosystem.  The categories include the Homer Hickman Collier Award, Engineering Professional, Community Investment, Community Involvement, Safety Professional, Outstanding Innovation, Environmental Professional, Women in Mining, Educator of the Year, and Champion for Coal.

Nomination forms may be obtained by going to or

The Miners’ Celebration is a cooperative effort of the Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences (CEGAS) at Marshall University, the National Coal Heritage Area, Strategic Solutions LLC, the United Mine Workers of America, the West Virginia Coal Association, and the West Virginia Division of Energy, Office of Coalfield Community Development.