School of Medicine physician selected for national leadership program

Dr. Hisham A. Keblawi, associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology and director of the third-year OB-GYN clerkship at the  Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, has been selected for the 2016-2017 Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) Academic Scholars and Leaders Program.

The program is an initiative to enhance education in obstetrics and gynecology by preparing OB-GYN physician faculty, through a rigorous 15-month curriculum, to possess the skills and knowledge necessary to be outstanding teachers and educational administrators.  Admission to the program is highly competitive, with each class limited to 24 academic obstetricians and gynecologists.

Graduates of the program are expected to fulfill major educational responsibilities and positions in their departments, their academic institutions, APGO and other educational organizations.

Keblawi is the fourth member of the faculty of the department of obstetrics and gynecology to be selected for the program, joining past graduates Dr. Kevin J. Conaway,  Dr. David C. Jude and faculty emeritus Dr. Gary G. Gilbert.