School of Pharmacy faculty member recognized for innovative patient care

Leesa M. Prunty, Pharm. D., BCPS, a clinical assistant professor of pharmacy at the School of Pharmacy, was recognized this month by the West Virginia Pharmacists Association (WVPA) as the 2015 recipient of the Excellence in Innovation Award.

A shared faculty member between Marshall and Cabell Huntington Hospital’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit and the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, Prunty was presented with the award for her commitment to innovative pharmacy practice leading to improved patient care.

“Dr. Prunty has forged a dynamic interface at the bedside between clinical pharmacy and clinical pediatrics that serves to improve outcomes for children through better medication therapy management,” said Kevin W. Yingling, R.Ph., M.D., dean of the school of pharmacy. “We are very proud of her efforts.”

Prunty’s work to improve patient care includes reviewing several hospital protocols aimed at improving patient safety for pediatrics and also working on several original protocols including medication dosing and pediatric pharmacokinetics, the branch of pharmacology concerned with the movement of drugs within the body.  Additionally, she has authored several papers on pediatric and education projects.

“This clearly supports the continued focus on excellence among our partners at Marshall Health,” said Hoyt Burdick, M.D., chief medical officer at Cabell Huntington Hospital. “We applaud Leesa on her achievement and her continued efforts in providing quality patient care.”

Prunty joined the Marshall University School of Pharmacy in 2013.

The award was presented at the annual WVPA meeting at Stonewall Resort.   At the same meeting, the Marshall University School of Pharmacy Class of 2018 student team won the Student Pharmacists Self-Care Championship.