Society of Black Scholars inducts 12

The Office of Intercultural Affairs held its annual induction ceremony for new members of the Society of Black Scholars last weekend. The event took place in the J. Churchill Hodges Atrium in the university’s Arthur Weisberg Family Engineering Complex.

The Society of Black Scholars, established in the fall of 2003, is a highly select honors program for African and African American students, celebrating a rich tradition of success. The program has a progressive focus on high academic performance, character development, integrity, professional leadership and service learning, according to Maurice Cooley, associate vice president of intercultural affairs.

The 12 students who were inducted include:

  • Maryann Adebayo of Martinsburg, West Virginia
  • Josslyn Almonte of Huntington
  • Lyndsey Bowman of Huntington
  • Jealin Cochran of Martinsburg, West Virginia
  • Calvin E. Covington of Martinsburg, West Virginia
  • Auzhane’ Gilmer of Cross Lanes, West Virginia
  • Mason Moore of Huntington
  • Olivia Revels-Strother of Charleston, West Virginia
  • Imone Velez of Charles Town, West Virginia
  • Erika M. Williams of Huntington
  • Cierra Young of Huntington
  • Martha Sotome of Lagos, Nigeria

In order to be eligible for induction, a member must be a full-time student with a 3.0 cumulative GPA who has been recommended by a university administrator or faculty member. To learn more about the Marshall University Society of Black Scholars, visit