Classified Staff Council 2019 General Election to take place April 25-29

As mandated by H.B. 2224, the Classified Staff Council will hold an election to select no more than five representatives from each of the university’s five EEO groups, the Staff Council Chair, the Institutional Board of Governors (IBOG) Representative, and the Advisory Council of Classified Employees (ACCE) Representative. Elected candidates will serve from July 1, 2019 until June 30, 2021.

Nominees Are:

Chris Atkins (University College)

Institutional Board of Governors Representative:
Carol Hurula (Academic Affairs)
Nancy Tresch-Reneau (Psychology)
Lacie Bittinger (Lewis College of Business)
Albert Simon (College of Education/Professional Development)

Advisory Council for Classified Employees Representative:
Brean Stewart (College of Education/Professional Development)
Becky Lusher (Facilities Planning)
Teresa Meddings (Accounts Payable)
Justin Tyler (Physical Plant)

EEO Group 10 – Executive, Administrative & Managerial – Nominees are:
Carol Hurula (Academic Affairs)
Lacie Bittinger (Lewis College of Business)
Dena Laton (Library)
Eric Wallace (Physical Plant)
Samantha Stalnaker (College of Liberal Arts)

EEO Group 30 – Other Professionals – Nominees are:
Rodney Sanders (Lewis College of Business)
Teresa Meddings (Accounts Payable)
Albert Simon (College of Education/Professional Development)
Christopher Hodge (Library)
Crystal Stewart (Information Technology)
Chris Atkins (University College)
Becky Lusher (Facilities Planning)
Amber Bentley (University College)

EEO Group 40 – Technical & Paraprofessional – Nominees are:
Karena Burriss (Accounts Payable)
Missy Morrison (SOM-Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine)
Nina Barrett (Accounts Payable)
Lisa Maynard (SOM – Finance & Administration)
Amy Saxton (Pharmacy Experiential Education)
Patty Carman (Registrar)
Laura Gunther (Lewis College of Business)

EEO Group 50 – Clerical – Nominees are:
Mitzi Meade (Political Science)
Denise Parks (Communication Studies)
*You may also write in 3 additional nominees since your EEO Group doesn’t have a full 5 nominees

EEO Groups 60 & 70 – Skilled Crafts & Service/Maintenance – Nominees are:
Tony Waugh (Physical Plant)
David Childers (Biotechnology Center Operating)
Timothy Cline (Physical Plant)
Justin Tyler (Physical Plant)
Marcos Serrat (MUPD)

Electronic voting will be available from Thursday, April 25at 6 a.m. through Monday, April 29 at midnight. All voting will be electronic. There will be no paper ballot voting.  

Staff members are highly recommended to vote early in the election period so that if they encounter any problems logging in or casting their ballot they may obtain assistance from the Help Desk.

Any staff member who is unable to successfully vote electronically should notify the Staff Council Office or Election Committee Chair Nina Barrett PRIOR to the end of the voting period. Contact information is listed below:

Staff Council Office – Katie Counts, 304-696-2222 or
Election Committee Chair – Nina Barrett, 304-696-2216 or