Marshall University School of Pharmacy names new department chair

Thursday, August 11, 2011

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Dr. Kimberly Broedel-Zaugg, formerly a professor of pharmacy at Ohio Northern University,  has been named Founding Chair of Pharmacy Practice and Administration for the Marshall University School of Pharmacy.  Broedel-Zaugg began her duties with Marshall July 17.

Currently she is responsible for development of the department and assisting the leadership team as it builds the pharmacy program.   When the first class is admitted in 2012, Broedel-Zaugg will assume teaching responsibilities as well.   Her areas of expertise include sterile products, over-the-counter products, and health care systems.

“I am absolutely ecstatic about my new position at Marshall and am looking forward to building this program from the ground up,” Broedel-Zauug said.  “I really can’t wait to have students in the hallways.”

“With over 10 years of experience in pharmacy practice and 17 years of experience in pharmacy education, Dr. Broedel-Zaugg  has an extensive background in both the scholarship and practice of pharmacy,” said Dr. Kevin Yingling, dean of the school of pharmacy. “She will provide excellent leadership for the development of the department of pharmacy practice and administration.”

Broedel-Zaugg graduated from Ohio Northern University in 1981 with a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy.  Completing her Master of  Business Administration in 1989 at Ashland University, she went on to fulfill the requirements for a doctorate in pharmaceutical administration from Ohio State University in 1993. 

While completing her advanced degrees, she worked as a staff pharmacist at Akron City Hospital in Akron, Ohio, as well as Doctors Hospital and Massillon State Hospital in Massillon, Ohio.  She gained additional experience as a relief pharmacist for several home health agencies.

In 1994, Broedel-Zaugg joined the faculty at Ohio Northern University as an assistant professor and she received tenure in 2000.  She was promoted to full professor in 2004. 

Broedel-Zaugg has been awarded numerous teaching and mentoring honors in her field including the 2006-2007 Kappa Epsilon Unicorn Award for national service and leadership. Additionally, she was awarded the Kappa Epsilon Advisor of the Year award for 2008-2009 and the Kappa Epsilon Career Achievement Award in 2011. Kappa Epsilon is a national professional pharmacy fraternity.

For more information, contact: Broedel-Zauug  at 304-696-2306.