Fall Semester 2017

Subscribe to ICS | Download Calendar

August 11, Friday 
End of summer school

August 14, Monday – August 18, Friday 
Registration/Schedule Adjustment

August 15, Tuesday 
Residence Halls Open for Freshmen

August 15, Tuesday – August 20, Sunday 
Week of Welcome for freshmen

August 19, Saturday, 9:00 a.m. 
Residence halls open for upperclassmen

August 21, Monday
First day of classes

August 21, Monday – August 25, Friday 
Late registration/schedule adjustment (add-drop)

August 25, Friday 
Last day to add a class

August 28, Monday 
“W” Withdrawal period begins

September 2, Saturday – September 4, Monday 
University computing services unavailable

September 4, Monday 
Labor Day Holiday- University Closed

September 15, Friday 
Application for December graduation due in academic dean’s office

September 22, Friday 
Last Day to Drop 1st 8 Weeks Courses

October 2, Monday 
Final draft of thesis/dissertation delivered to committee chair

October 9, Monday, Noon 
Freshmen/Sophomore midterm grades due

October 11, Wednesday 
1st 8 weeks courses end

October 12, Thursday 
2nd 8 weeks courses begin

October 23, Monday 
Students should schedule appointments with advisors
to prepare for advance registration.
(Required for students who have mandatory advising holds)

October 27, Friday 
Last day to drop a full semester individual course

October 30, Monday 
Recommended date to apply for May 2017 graduation

October 30, Monday – December 8, Friday 
Complete withdrawals only

November 6, Monday – November 17, Friday 
Advance registration for spring semester
(open only to currently enrolled students)

November 14, Tuesday 
Last day to drop 2nd 8 weeks courses

November 18, Saturday, Noon 
Residence halls close

November 20 – Monday 
Advance registration for spring semester (open to admitted and readmitted students)

November 20, Monday – November 25, Saturday 
Thanksgiving Break
Classes dismissed

November 23, Thursday – November 24, Friday 
Thanksgiving Holiday
University closed

November 26, Sunday, 9:00 a.m. 
Residence halls open

November 27, Monday 
Classes resume

December 4, Monday – December 8, Friday 
“Dead week”

December 8, Friday 
Last class day
Last day to completely withdraw from fall semester

December 9, Saturday 
Exam day for Saturday classes
Some common finals

December 11, Monday 
Exam day

December 12, Tuesday 
Exam day

December 13, Wednesday 
Study Day
Exams resume at 3:00 p.m. for Wednesday evening classes

December 14, Thursday 
Approved Thesis/Dissertation must be submitted to the EDT website
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation form and graduation fee receipt submitted to the Graduate College Office

December 14, Thursday 
Exam Day

December 15, Friday 
Exam day

December 16, Saturday, 10 a.m.
Winter Commencement, Big Sandy Superstore Arena

December 17, Sunday, Noon 
Residence halls close

December 18, Monday, Noon 
Final Grades due

December 22, 2017, Friday – January 1, 2018, Monday 
Winter break, University closed

December 28, Thursday – December 29, Friday 
Student Service Offices Open 10:00 a.m. — 4:00 p.m.
(Admissions, Bursar, Financial Aid, Registrar)