Fall 2021 Semester (14 Weeks)

August 13, Friday 
End of summer school

August 16, Monday – August 20, Friday 
Registration/schedule adjustment

August 17, Tuesday 
Residence halls open for freshmen

August 17, Tuesday – August 20, Friday 
Week of Welcome for freshmen

August 21, Saturday, 9:00 a.m. 
Residence halls open for upperclassmen

August 23, Monday, 8 a.m.
First day of classes

August 23, Monday – August 27, Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. 
Late registration/schedule adjustment (add-drop)

August 27, Friday 
Last day to add a class

August 30, Monday
Withdrawal (“W”) period begins

September 4, Saturday – September 6, Monday 
University Computing Services unavailable

September 6, Monday 
Labor Day Holiday – University closed

September 10, Friday 
Application for December graduation due in academic Dean’s office

September 17, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from 1st 8 weeks courses

October 4, Monday, Noon 
Freshmen/Sophomore midterm grades due

October 8, Friday
1st 8 weeks courses end

October 11, Monday
2nd 8 weeks courses begin

October 22, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from a full semester individual course

October 25, Monday 
Recommended date to apply for May 2022 graduation

October 25, Monday – December 3, Friday 
Complete withdrawals only

October 25, Monday 
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance registration.
(Required for students who have mandatory advising holds.)

November 8, Monday – November 19, Friday 
Advance registration for spring semester (open only to currently enrolled students)

November 12, Friday
Last day to withdraw from 2nd 8 weeks courses

November 12, Friday
Approved thesis/dissertation must be submitted to the EDT website for Graduate College review

November 20, Saturday, Noon 
Residence halls close

November 22, Monday 
Advance registration for spring semester (open to admitted and readmitted students)

November 22, Monday – November 26, Friday 
Thanksgiving Break – classes dismissed

November 25, Thursday – November 26, Friday 
Thanksgiving Holiday – University closed

November 28, Sunday, 9:00 a.m. 
Residence halls open

November 29, Monday 
Classes resume

November 29, Monday – December 3, Friday 
Dead week

December 3, Friday 
Last class day
Last day to completely withdraw from fall semester

December 4, Saturday 
Exam day for Saturday classes
Some common finals

December 6, Monday 
Exam day

December 7, Tuesday 
Exam day

December 8, Wednesday 
Study day
Exams resume at 3:00 p.m. for Wednesday evening classes

December 9, Thursday 
Exam day

December 10, Friday 
Exam day

December 11, Saturday, TBD 
Winter Commencement, Big Sandy Superstore Arena
Official December graduation date

December 12, Sunday, Noon 
Residence halls close

December 13, Monday, Noon 
Final grades due
ETD must be approved by the Graduate College and all other requirements must be met for degree completion

December 23, 2021 Thursday – January 3, 2022, Monday
Winter Break – university closed