Fall 2023 Semester (14 Weeks)

August 11, Friday 
End of summer school

August 14, Monday – August 18, Friday 
Registration/schedule adjustment

August 15, Tuesday 
Residence halls open for freshmen

August 15, Tuesday – August 18, Friday 
Week of Welcome for freshmen

August 19, Saturday, 9:00 a.m. 
Residence halls open for upperclassmen

August 21, Monday, 8 a.m.
First day of classes

August 21, Monday – August 25, Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. 
Late registration/schedule adjustment (add-drop)

August 25, Friday 
Last day to add a class

August 28, Monday
Withdrawal ("W") period begins

September 2, Saturday – September 4, Monday 
University Computing Services unavailable

September 4, Monday 
Labor Day Holiday – University closed

September 8, Friday 
Application for December graduation due in academic Dean’s office

September 22, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from 1st 8 weeks courses

October 2, Monday, Noon 
Freshmen/Sophomore midterm grades due

October 6, Friday
1st 8 weeks courses end

October 9, Monday
2nd 8 weeks courses begin

October 23, Monday 
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance registration.
(Required for students who have mandatory advising holds.)

October 27, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a full semester individual course

October 30, Monday 
Recommended date to apply for May 2024 graduation

October 30, Monday – December 1, Friday 
Complete withdrawals only

November 3, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from 2nd 8 weeks courses

November 6, Monday – November 17, Friday 
Advance registration for spring semester (open only to currently enrolled students)

November 10, Friday 
Approved thesis/dissertation must be submitted to the ETD website for Graduate College review

November 18, Saturday, Noon 
Residence halls close

November 20, Monday 
Advance registration for spring semester (open to admitted and readmitted students)

November 20, Monday – November 24, Friday 
Thanksgiving Break – classes dismissed

November 23, Thursday – November 24, Friday 
Thanksgiving Holiday – University closed

November 26, Sunday, 9:00 a.m. 
Residence halls open

November 27, Monday 
Classes resume

November 27, Monday – December 1, Friday 
Dead week

December 1, Friday 
Last class day
Last day to completely withdraw from fall semester

December 2, Saturday 
Exam day for Saturday classes
Some common finals

December 4, Monday 
Exam day

December 5, Tuesday 
Exam day

December 6, Wednesday 
Study day
Exams resume at 3:00 p.m. for Wednesday evening classes

December 7, Thursday 
Exam day

December 8, Friday 
Exam day

December 9, Saturday, TBD
Winter Commencement, Big Sandy Superstore Arena
Official December graduation date

December 10, Sunday, Noon 
Residence halls close

December 11, Monday, Noon 
Final grades due
ETD must be approved by the Graduate College and all other requirements must be met for degree completion

December 25, 2023, Monday – January 2, 2024, Tuesday 
Winter Break – University closed