Spring 2020 Semester

January 2, Thursday 
University reopens

January 2, Thursday – January 10, Friday 
Registration/Schedule adjustments

January 12, Sunday, 9 a.m. 
Residence halls open

January 13, Monday, 8 a.m. 
First Day of Classes

January 13, Monday – January 17, Friday 
Late registration/schedule adjustment (add-drop)

January 17, Friday 
Last day to add a class

January 20, Monday 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – University closed

January 21, Tuesday 
"W" Withdrawal period begins

February 7, Friday 
Applications for May graduation due in dean’s office

February 14, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from 1st 8 weeks courses

February 24, Monday, Noon 
Freshmen/Sophomore mid-term grades due

February 24, Monday 
Final draft of thesis/dissertation delivered to committee chair

February 28, Friday
1st 8 weeks courses end

March 2, Monday 
2nd 8 weeks courses begin

March 9, Monday 
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance
registration for summer and fall. (Required for students with mandatory advising holds.)

March 16, Monday – March 20, Friday 
Advance registration for summer sessions (open only to currently enrolled students)

March 20, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from a full semester individual course

March 21, Saturday, Noon 
Residence halls close

March 23, Monday 
Advance registration for summer sessions begin (open to admitted/readmitted students)

March 23, Monday – March 28, Saturday 
Spring Break
Classes dismissed

March 30, Monday 
Classes resume

March 30, Monday 
Recommended date to apply for December 2020 graduation

April 10, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from 2nd 8 weeks courses

April 10, Friday
Approved thesis/dissertation must be submitted to the ETD website for Graduate College review

April 13, Monday – April 24, Friday 
Advance registration for fall semester (open only to currently enrolled students)

April 20, Monday – April 24, Friday 
"Dead Week"

April 24, Friday 
Last class day
Last day to completely withdraw from spring semester

April 25, Saturday 
Exam day for Saturday classes
Some common finals

April 27, Monday 
Advance registration for fall semester begins (open to admitted/readmitted students except first-time fall undergraduates)

April 27, Monday 
Exam Day

April 28, Tuesday 
Exam Day

April 29, Wednesday 
Study Day
Exams resume at 3 p.m. for Wednesday evening classes

April 30, Thursday 
Exam Day

May 1, Friday 
Exam Day

May 2, Saturday, TBD at Big Sandy Superstore Arena 
Commencement
Official May Graduation Date

May 3, Sunday, Noon 
Residence halls close

May 4, Monday – August 7, Friday 
Summer School Sessions

May 5, Tuesday, Noon 
Final Grades due
ETD must be approved by the Graduate College and all other requirements must be met for degree completion

May 23, Saturday – May 25, Monday 
University Computer Services Unavailable

May 25, Monday 
Memorial Day Holiday
University closed

July 3, Friday
Independence Day Holiday
University closed