Spring 2022 Semester (14 Weeks)

January 4, Tuesday
University reopens

January 4, Thursday – January 7, Friday 
Registration/schedule adjustments

January 7, Friday, 9 a.m. 
Residence halls open

January 10, Monday, 8 a.m. 
First day of classes

January 10, Monday – January 14, Friday 
Late registration/schedule adjustment (add-drop)

January 14, Friday 
Last day to add a class

January 17, Monday 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – University closed

January 18, Tuesday 
Withdrawal (“W”) period begins

January 28, Friday 
Applications for May graduation due in academic Dean’s office

February 11, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from 1st 8 weeks courses

February 21, Monday, Noon 
Freshmen/Sophomore midterm grades due

February 25, Friday
1st 8 weeks courses end

February 28, Monday 
2nd 8 weeks courses begin

March 7, Monday 
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance
registration for summer and fall. (Required for students with mandatory advising holds.)

March 12, Saturday, Noon 
Residence halls close

March 14, Monday – March 18, Friday 
Spring Break – classes dismissed

March 21, Monday 
Classes resume

March 21, Monday – March 25, Friday 
Advance registration for summer sessions (open only to currently enrolled students)

March 25, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from a full semester individual course

March 28, Monday 
Advance registration for summer sessions begin (open to admitted/readmitted students)

March 28, Monday 
Recommended date to apply for December 2022 graduation

March 28, Monday – April 22, Friday 
Complete withdrawals only

April 1, Friday 
Last day to withdraw from 2nd 8 weeks courses

April 1, Friday
Approved thesis/dissertation must be submitted to ETD website for Graduate College review

April 4, Monday – April 15, Friday 
Advance registration for fall semester (open only to currently enrolled students)

April 18, Monday 
Advance registration for fall semester begins (open to admitted/readmitted students except first-time fall undergraduates)

April 18, Monday – April 22, Friday 
Dead week

April 22, Friday 
Last class day
Last day to completely withdraw from spring semester

April 23, Saturday 
Exam day for Saturday classes
Some common finals

April 25, Monday 
Exam day

April 26, Tuesday 
Exam day

April 27, Wednesday 
Study day
Exams resume at 3 p.m. for Wednesday evening classes

April 28, Thursday 
Exam day

April 29, Friday 
Exam day

April 30, Saturday, TBD at Big Sandy Superstore Arena 
Commencement
Official May graduation date

May 1, Sunday, Noon 
Residence halls close

May 2, Monday, Noon 
Final grades due
ETD must be approved by the Graduate College and all other requirements must be met for degree completion

May 9, Monday – August 12, Friday 
Summer school sessions

May 28, Saturday – May 30, Monday 
University computer services unavailable

May 30, Monday 
Memorial Day Holiday – University closed

July 4, Monday
Independence Day Holiday – University closed