Content Specialization Liaison Committee (C.S.L.C)

The Content Specialization Liaison Committee for Initial Teacher Education (CSLCITE) is charged with considering aspects of secondary teacher preparation program areas in collaboration with other colleges’ content areas for WV teacher licensure offered by Marshall University. The committee’s mission is to review the courses offered in each program and to recommend changes, based on national and state academic standards that would strengthen the program.



Members from CSLCITE 

Representative faculty members from certification areas:

  • Art – Maribea Barnes-Marsano
  • Chemistry – Ken O’Connor
  • English – Sabrina Jones
  • General Science – Jon Saken
  • Mathematics – Karen Mitchell
  • Music – Captain Walden and Adam Dalton
  • Wellness – TBD
  • Physics – Curt Foltz and Que Huong Nguyen, dept. chair
  • Social Studies – Neil Arneson


Members from the COEPD:

  • Associate Dean, Huntington – Sissy Isaacs
  • CIF Program Director or designee – Paula Lucas
  • MAT/PBC Coordinator – Tina Allen
  • Director of Assessment – Paula Lucas and Chuck Bethel
  • Dean, ex-officio – Teresa Eagle
  • Director of SCOPES, ex-officio – Kandice Rowe

Meeting Minutes w/ Handouts
Praxis II Data
TIR w/ Updates

What is a teacher in residence program?

A Teacher-in-Residence Program is an intensively supervised and mentored residency program for prospective teachers during their senior year that refines their professional practice skills and helps them gain the teaching experience needed to demonstrate competence as a prerequisite to certification to teach in the West Virginia public schools. Teacher-in-residence programs require authorization of the WVBE pursuant to W. Va. Code §18A-3-1(e).


What are the minimum requirements?

The prospective teachers-in-residence shall:

  •  Have completed the content preparation courses with a minimum 3.0 GPA;
  • Have met the proficiency score(s) on the state competency exam(s) in pre-professional skills (PPST or PRAXIS Core) or qualify for an exemption as described in Section 6.2.c of WVBE Policy 5100;
  • Have met the proficiency score(s) on the state competency exam(s) in content (PRAXIS II Content) or qualify for an exemption as described in Policy 5202 in the area for which s/he is seeking certification.
  • The prospective teachers-in-residence shall only be eligible to serve in a teaching position in the county which has been posted and for which no other fully certified teacher has been employed.

The agreement between the institution of higher education and the county board shall include the specifics regarding the program of instruction and the responsibilities for supervision and mentoring by the institution of higher education, the school principal, peer and mentor teachers.

  • The salary and benefit costs for the position to which the teacher-in-residence is assigned shall be used only for program support and to pay the teacher-in-residence a stipend that is no less than 65% of all state aid funding.
  • The prospective teacher-in residence shall satisfy the requirements for the Teacher-In-Resident Permit as identified in Policy 5202.
  • The program must be approved by the WVBE.


When is a student selected for a Teacher-In-Residence program?

The selected student must fill out the necessary forms and turn them in to Ms. Tammy Aliff, Certification Specialist, only AFTER the county has guaranteed the position:


TIR Programs

Berkeley County Schools

Boone County Schools

Braxton County Schools

Cabell County Schools

Doddridge County Schools

Fayette County Schools

Kanawha County Schools

Lincoln County Schools

Mason County Schools

McDowell County Schools

Mingo County Schools

Putnam County Schools

Ritchie County Schools

Wayne County Schools

Wirt County Schools

Wood County


Forms - Disposition/Double Major