The decision to seek help in resolving your concerns is a difficult one, but Marshall University’s Counseling Center is committed to helping you overcome your adversities. We offer services to help you manage stress, depression, and anxieties including the serious problem of test anxiety. Also, we can guide you through conflict resolution, anger management and relationship issues. Marshall University’s Counseling Center understands the pressures of surviving in a university environment, and we’re here to help you attain your personal and academic goals.



Below, you will find a partial listing of the services offered by
the Counseling Center. If you need attention in an area not represented,
please call our office on (304) 696-3111 to arrange a consultation with
one of our professional counselors.




For information about off campus mental health services in West Virginia, visit:



Information obtained during your counseling session will not
be disclosed outside of the Counseling Center without your permission.
Throughout the entire counseling process, students can expect full
protection of their privacy rights including the confidentiality of
written counseling services such as tests or surveys.


Counseling Process

Students must take an active role in their counseling process to recieve
the full benefits. As a team, you and your counselor work together to
personalize your program by discussing your goals and needs, then
deciding the frequency of your sessions. This team concept helps build
trust and rapport between you and your counselor while giving you control
over your sessions.


There may be a time when a student and his/her counselor agree
that medication may be beneficial.  In that case, the counselor will
schedule an appointment for the student to talk with the Counseling
Center’s psychiatric support. 


Psychiatric support is offered one half day per week in the Counseling Center. 
Office visits are free. Only those students in an ongoing therapeutic
relationship with a counselor in the Counseling Center are eligible
to take advantage of this on-campus service.



We recommend you make an appointment with the Counseling Center to insure
a counseling professional will be available to discuss your concerns. If
you ever need to cancel an appointment, please call the Counseling Center
or your counselor as soon as possible. All appointments can be made in
person or over the phone by calling (304) 696-3111. The Counseling Center
provides a waiting area for clients on the first floor of Prichard Hall.



A brief record of all interactions between you and your counselor are kept
in the Counseling Center’s office. These records are not part of the
Marshall University central files.  University administrators or faculty
do not have access to counseling files. Counseling Services is committed
to protecting your privacy.