School of Pharmacy dean honored with distinguished pharmacy educator award

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) has recognized Gayle A. Brazeau, Ph.D., dean of the Marshall University School of Pharmacy, for her excellence as a teacher, outstanding achievements as an author and mentor, and overall impact on pharmacy education and the profession. She will receive the Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award during the 2020 AACP Annual Meeting in Long Beach, California, in July. The award, named for the late Robert K. Chalmers, former AACP president and distinguished educator, consists of an inscribed Steuben glass owl sculpture and a $5,000 prize.

"I am both humbled and honored to be recognized with this award," Brazeau said. "To be acknowledged by my colleagues in this way is a high point of my career, and I am beyond grateful for the interactions that I have had with each of them throughout the years."

Brazeau’s career has spanned more than 35 years in pharmacy education at the University of Houston, the University of Florida and the University at Buffalo. Prior to coming to Marshall, she served as dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of New England. In addition to her faculty appointments, Brazeau has served as associate dean for academic affairs at the University at Buffalo and assistant dean for curricular affairs and accreditation at the University of Florida. She was also a member of the University of Florida’s Centers for Alcohol Research, Environmental and Human Toxicology and Neurobiology of Aging.

Brazeau received her bachelor’s degree in pharmacy and master’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy. She completed a Ph.D. in pharmaceutics at the University at Buffalo, State University of New York.

Brazeau has received a host of academic and professional awards including the Lambda Kappa Sigma Vanguard Leadership Award (2018); the Douglas H. Kay Distinguished Educator Award (Maine Pharmacists Association, 2017); the Class of 2013 Nexters (MaineBiz); Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame (Academic Excellence Foundation / Sylvania City Schools, 2013); the Executive Directors Award (Pharmacists Association of Western New York, 2007); the Rufus A. Lyman Award (AACP, 2003); and the Distinguished Alumni Award (University of Toledo, 1999).

Additionally, Brazeau has served as editor of the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education and is on the editorial boards of Pharmaceutical Development and Technology, PharmSciTech, the AAPS Journal and the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science.