Faculty member receives national award for medicinal chemistry research

Marshall University School of Pharmacy assistant professor Velvet Journigan, Ph.D., has received a Young Investigators Award from the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Medicinal Chemistry (MEDI). This award recognizes young investigators within 10 years of the start of their independent careers who have made significant contributions to the field of medicinal chemistry.

Journigan will present “Structure-based design of novel biphenyl amide antagonists of human transient receptor potential cation channel subfamily M member 8 channels (TRPM8)” at the MEDI Young Investigator Award Symposium at the Fall 2020 ACS virtual meeting Aug. 17-20.

“Dr. Journigan’s invitation to present in this symposium provides recognition from the scientific community of the innovative work that she is doing,” said Boyd Rorabaugh, Ph.D., chair of the pharmaceutical science and research department at Marshall’s School of Pharmacy. “We hope that her efforts will one day lead to the development of novel therapeutics for the treatment of chronic pain. The medical community is in great need of new therapies for pain management that do not have the addiction potential of opioids.”

Journigan’s lab is funded by the West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute (5U54GM104942-05). She was nominated for the Young Investigators Award by West Virginia University medicinal chemistry professor Mark L. McLaughlin, Ph.D.

Additional information about research at Marshall University School of Pharmacy is available at https://www.marshall.edu/pharmacy/research/.