August and December 2021 ACTA Scholar Graduates announced

Friday, January 21, 2022
Leah C. Payne, Director of Communications, 304-696-7153

Marshall University’s August and December 2021 ACTA Scholar Graduates

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Marshall University’s John Deaver Drinko Academy has announced its cohort of August and December 2021 National Society of American Council of Trustees and Alumni (ACTA) Scholar graduates.  Twenty-one Marshall students recently completed their degrees with this prestigious honor.

The following graduates from Cabell, Wayne, and Mason counties in West Virginia and Lawrence County in Ohio are among those who have been recognized as ACTA Scholars:

Tori Adkins of Ona, West Virginia

Brian Ash of Ona, West Virginia

Newt Bartholomew of Barboursville, West Virginia

Rachael Houck of Huntington, West Virginia

Madison Perdue of Huntington, West Virginia

Paige Reger of Huntington, West Virginia

Eleni Svingos of Huntington, West Virginia

Angel Wallace of Proctorville, Ohio

Nicholette Watters of Milton, West Virginia

Hannah Watterson of Apple Grove, West Virginia


“ACTA Scholars complete a set of additional course requirements providing advanced preparation for the responsibilities of informed and engaged citizenship, for effective communication and competition within the global marketplace, and for skilled and creative problem solving to address our future challenges,” said Drinko Academy Executive Director Dr. Montserrat Miller. “Three of the seven courses needed for ACTA Scholar eligibility are already built into Marshall’s core curriculum, and two more are included in College of Liberal Arts requirements.  But only a few majors require U.S. government, U.S. history, or any introductory economics courses.  Marshall University’s National Society of ACTA Scholars chapter encourages more students to take such courses, along with literature and foreign language classes.”

The National Society of ACTA Scholars academic honorary was founded in 2020 by the American Council of Trustees and Alumni, a Washington, D.C. based nonprofit that promotes rigorous studies in the arts and sciences, as well as free speech and civil discourse on college campuses.  Marshall University is one of several institutions of higher education that recently established chapters.

The August and December 2021 ACTA Scholar graduates completed their degrees with majors in Communication Studies, English, Geography, History, International Affairs, Political Science, Psychology, and Spanish.

Marshall’s National Society of ACTA Scholars chapter is supported by ACTA’s Fund for Academic Renewal and by alumni, and by supporters and friends of the John Deaver Drinko Academy for American Political Institutions and Civic Culture.

*The names of ACTA graduates from other regions are available by request.