Physical therapy students receive WVHEPC health science service program award

Colin Pierce and Christa Park of the Marshall University School of Physical Therapy have been chosen to receive the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission’s Health Sciences Service Program Award.

This is a competitive recruitment incentive program for future health care providers interested in practicing in underserved communities, according to Scott Davis, chair of the physical therapy program.

"This a win-win for the students and the communities they will serve," Davis said. "The Marshall School of Physical Therapy is proud to support this excellent program and give back to the state of West Virginia."

Pierce, 24, of Mason, W.Va., said he plans to work at an occupational therapy clinic in his home county and said this scholarship will help him get settled into his new career.

Park, 27, of Summersville, W.Va. said she will use the scholarship to pay for her next semester’s tuition and hopes to work in an outpatient or skilled nursing facility in Nicholas or Fayette County. Both Pierce and Park expect to graduate in May 2017.

The program allocates approximately 15 awards each academic year to students in the state’s higher education system. Awards are made by the Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences based on a competitive application process and the recommendations of an advisory committee.

For more information about the WVHEPC’s health science service program award, visit

To learn more about the Marshall University School of Physical Therapy, visit