WMUL wins Pinnacle National College Media Awards

Marshall University’s public radio station, WMUL-FM, took home three 2017-2018 Pinnacle National College Media Awards, announced last month in Louisville.

WMUL received a second-place organizational award for Four-Year Radio Station of the Year, while Marshall students won two first-place awards in the individual categories.

The Four-Year Radio Station of the Year award was presented for an entry that included written materials plus audio clips from the following radio packages that the station presented: “Lego Young Builders,” “Ryan Yurachek Flood Relief” and the Classroom Concert Series Program with special guest band, Colly.

One of the first-place award winners in the individual categories was Best Radio Promo/PSA, which went to WMUL’s “Out of this World,” an in-house promotional announcement first broadcast in August 2017. It was written and produced by Brian Leonard, a recent graduate from Huntington and features the voice talents of Luke Creasy, another recent graduate from Huntington, Adam Rogers, a recent graduate from Milton, Dylan Stone, a former student from Henderson, and Savanah Matney, a junior from South Point, Ohio.

WMUL also received the Best Radio Sportscast Award for “Ryan Yurachek Houston Flood Relief,” written and produced by Adam Rogers, broadcast during the “Cutting Edge Sports Radio Network Pregame Program” in September 2017, and also made available online.

The awards were announced Oct. 27 at the 97th Annual Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association National College Media Convention in Louisville, Kentucky, recognizing excellence in college student-produced television, radio and online media.  It is sponsored by the College Media Association.

“I am proud of my students, grateful for the recognition this organizational Pinnacle Award bestows for a second straight year upon WMUL-FM’s volunteer student staff and its community volunteers, the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications, the College of Arts and Media and Marshall University,” said Dr. Chuck G. Bailey, professor of radio–television production and management and faculty manager of WMUL-FM. “The individual Pinnacle Awards are a tribute to the outstanding creativity and production skills that our broadcast students possess.”