School of Medicine inducts new members into Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inducted 14 new members during a ceremony March 11.

GHHS is a national honorary for those who demonstrate excellence in practicing patient-centered medical care through integrity, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy. Members are selected as third-year medical students. Residents, faculty and administrators may also be recognized for humanistic practice at various stages in their careers.

Members are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee composed of faculty, staff, clerkship directors and GHHS members. New inductees to the Marshall chapter include:


  • Kara Anderson
  • Hannah Leport
  • Jett MacPherson
  • Drake Seccurro
  • Amy Smith
  • Samantha Smith
  • Allison Thompson
  • Sam Wood

Resident Physicians:

  • Rodrigo Aguilar, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • Tamara Murphy, M.D. (Psychiatry)
  • Jenna Richards, D.O. (Pediatrics)
  • Andrew Venardi, M.D. (Surgery)


  • Kara Willenburg, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • Ashley Zawodniak, D.O. (Internal Medicine)

GHHS is an international initiative of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a public, not-for-profit organization established in 1988 by Drs. Arnold and Sandra Gold, several colleagues at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, and community leaders.


Photo:  New Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inductees at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine recite the GHHS oath March 11, during a ceremony at the Marshall University Memorial Student Center.