Degrees, Certificates, and Programs

Degrees and Minors

Department Major | Areas of Concentration Chair
Classical Language Latin: B.A., M.A. Dr. E. Del Chrol
304.696.4323
Chrol@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 408
Classics Humanities: B.A. Dr. E. Del Chrol
304.696.4323
Chrol@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 408
Communication Studies Communication Studies: B.A., M.A.

  • Health Communication
  • Interpersonal Communication
  • Organizational Communication
  • Public Communication
Dr. Cam Brammer
304.696.2810
brammer@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 248
Economics — Economics is a joint program offered by the College of Business and the College of Liberal Arts. Economics, B.A. Dr. Richard Agesa
304.696.2606
agesa@marshall.edu
Office: Corbly Hall 266
English English, B.A.

  • Creative Writing
  • Literary Studies
  • Education (English Education is a joint program offered by the College of Education and the College of Liberal Arts.)

English, M.A.

  • Literature Emphasis
Dr. Allison Carey
304.696.6439
careya@marshall.edu
Office: Corbly Hall 344
Geography Geography: B.A., B.S., M.A., M.S.

  • Weather Broadcasting
  • Meteorology
Dr. Jamie Leonard
304.696.4626
leonard@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 207
History History: B. A., M.A. Dr. Greta Rensenbrink
304.696.2955
rensenbrink@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 108
Humanities Humanities: B.A., M.A.

  • Classics
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
Dr. John Vielkind (Undergraduate Director)
304.696.4640
vielkind@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 417
Dr. Eric Lassiter (Graduate Director)
304.696.1923
lassiter@marshall.edu
Office: Graduate College 233
International Affairs International Affairs, B.A. Dr. Jess Morrissette
304.696.2760
morrissette@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 739
Modern Languages
  • French, B.A.
  • =

  • Japanese B.A.
  • Spanish: B.A., M.A.
Dr. Natsuki Anderson
304.696.3543,
andersonn@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 709
Philosophy Humanities, B.A. Dr. John Vielkind
304.696.4640
vielkind@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 417
Political Science Political Science: B.A., M.A. Dr. Shawn Schulenberg
304.696.2767
schulenberg@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 705
Psychology Psychology: B.A., M.A., Psy. D. Dr. Marianna Linz
304.696.2774
linz@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 330
Religious Studies Humanities: B.A. Dr. Jeffrey Ruff
304.696.2702
ruff@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 411
Sociology and Anthropology
  • Sociology: B.A., M.A. (with optional Anthropology emphasis)
  • Anthropology, B.A.
Dr. Kristi Fondren
304.696.2795
fondren@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 739-C

Certificates and Other Programs

Department Program Contact
Classics Latin: Graduate Certificate Dr. Caroline Perkins | 304.696.2701 |  perkins@marshall.edu | Smith 709
English Applied Linguistics: Graduate Certificate Dr. Kristen Lillvis | 304.696.6269 | lillvis@marshall.edu | Corbyl Hall 314
English Creative Writing: Graduate Certificate Dr. Kristen Lillvis | 304.696.6269 |lillvis@marshall.edu | Corbly Hall 314
English Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Graduate Certificate Dr. Kateryna Schray | 304.696.2404 |  rudnytzk @marshall.edu | Corbly 444
Geography Geospatial Information Science: Minor, Undergraduate and Graduate Certificate Dr. James Leonard | 304.696.4626 |  leonard@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 208
History (Undergraduate)
Humanities (Graduate)
Appalachian Studies: Minor, Undergraduate and Graduate Certificate Dr. Kevin Barksdale | 304.696.2956 |  barksdale@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 115 (Undergraduate)Dr. Eric Lassiter | 304.696.1923 |  lassiter@marshall.edu | Graduate College 233 (Graduate)
Interdisciplinary
African and African American Studies: Minor Dr. David Trowbridge | 304.696.2717 |  david.trowbridge@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 111
Interdisciplinary
Asian Studies: Minor Dr. Anara Tabyshalieva | 304.696.2724 |  tabyshalieva@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 111
Interdisciplinary
Latin American Studies: Minor, Undergraduate Certificate Dr. Christopher White 304.696.2722 | whitec@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 112
Interdisciplinary Sexuality Studies: Minor Dr. Shawn Schulenberg | 304.696.2767 | schulenberg@marshall.edu | Smith Hall 739A
Interdisciplinary Women’s Studies: Minor, Graduate Certificate Dr. Laura Michele Diener |
304.696.2954 | diener@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 107
Humanities Program Evaluation: Graduate Certificate Dr. Eric Lassiter | 304.696.1923 | lassiter@marshall.edu | Graduate College 233
Political Science Pre Law: Advising program to help students who plan to attend law school with preparation, applications, and admissions processes. Patricia Proctor | 304.696.2801 | proctor14@marshall.edu | Old Main 230L
Psychology Behavioral Statistics: Graduate Certificate Dr. Marianna Linz | 304.696.2774 | linz@marshall.edu | Harris 330
Psychology   Clinical Psychology: Graduate Certificate Dr. Marianna Linz | 304.696.2774 | linz@marshall.edu | Harris 330