Skip to main content

Marshall University Forensics Science Center recognized with top honor

Marshall University’s Forensic Science Center’s DNA Laboratory has been recognized as one of world’s premier labs after receiving the Maximus Award from the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors (ASCLD). 

The prestigious award is given to labs in recognition of their organizational structure and efficiency.  

Dr. Laura Kuyper is director of the center and says it is an incredible honor to receive the Maximus Award.   

“This recognition is a testament to the hard work, dedication and excellence of our team at the Marshall University Forensic Science Center,” Kuyper said. “Our commitment to advancing forensic science and providing top-notch service to our community and beyond has always been our driving force. This award not only acknowledges our past achievements but also inspires us to continue striving for innovation and excellence in forensic research and education.”  

Kuyper credited Eric Miller and others on the forensics team for their work that led to the recognition. 

The award is part of Project FORESIGHT, developed some 15 years ago by a group of West Virginia University (WVU) researchers with expertise in the quality science of the criminal justice system, including Paul Speaker, who is the Fred T. Tattersall Distinguished Chair of Finance and a professor of finance in the John T. Chambers School of Business.  

“The Maximus Award recognizes crime laboratories with a 90% or higher efficiency rating,” Speaker said. “We are particularly pleased that a WVU project can recognize our cross-state educational partners at the Marshall University Forensic Science Center for their performance in the top 7.5% of forensic laboratories worldwide for efficiency. The Forensic Science Center joins honorees from prestigious national laboratories from Costa Rica and New Zealand as well as state and local crime laboratories across the United States.” 

ASCLD says there were 211 submissions for the 2023 award with 16 labs recognized as winners.


Media Contact

Leah Payne
Director, University Communications
Marketing & Communications