Faculty Excellence

Department of History Faculty Award Winners

Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia Professor of the Year

Dr. Montserrat Miller, 2007-2008

Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginian Professor of the Year: Finalist

Dr. Phillip Rutherford, 2016-2017

Dr. William Palmer 2014-2015

Dr. Daniel Holbrook 2012-2013

Charles E. Hedrick Outstanding Faculty Award

Dr. Phillip Rutherford, 2015-2016

Dr. William Palmer 2013-2014

Dr. Daniel Holbrook 2011-2012

Dr. David Mills, 2007-2008

Dr. Montserrat Miller, 2006 – 2007

Marshall & Shirley Reynolds Outstanding Teacher Award

Dr. Laura Michele Diener, 2018-2019

Dr. Greta Rensenbrink, 2015 – 2016

Dr. William Palmer, 1996 – 1997

The Outstanding Faculty Civic Engagement Award (2019 Drinko Academy Awards)

Dr. Laura Michele Diener, 2019-2020

Marshall University Distinguished Artists and Scholars Award

Dr. Michael Woods, Junior Faculty, 2016-2017

Dr. Chris White, 2014-2015

Dr. William Palmer, 2007-2008

Pickens-Queen Teaching Award

Dr. Laura Michele Diener 2012-2013

Dr. Phillip Rutherford, 2007-2008

Dr. Kat Williams, 2002-2003

Dr. David Mills, 1999 – 2000

Dr. Montserrat Miller, 1998 – 1999

College of Liberal Arts Outstanding Teacher Award

Dr. Montserrat Miller 2008-2009

Dr. Daniel Holbrook, 2006 – 2007

Dr. Montserrat Miller, 2005 – 2006


Our Projects

Contact Us

Our Facebook Page

Marshall University
Department of History
Harris Hall 116
Huntington, WV 25755

In the Community

History student Adrienne Hall and Dr. Molly Mersmann at the Ceredo historical site The Ramsdell House. The former home of an abolitionist and a stop on the Underground Railroad, the Ramsdell House has am amazing collection of 19th century letters and artefacts. Hall is serving as a student intern this spring under Dr. Mersmann's supervision.