literary societyOne of West Virginia’s first public institutions of higher education, Marshall University was founded as Marshall Academy in 1837 and named after Chief Justice of the Supreme Court John Marshall (1755-1835).

The institution became Marshall College in 1858 and attained university status in 1961.

Read more about Marshall University’s history here.

Brochure:  The Symbols and Traditions of Marshall University