Students from WMUL-FM win awards

Students from Marshall University’s public radio station, WMUL-FM, received two finalist awards in the 2015 College Broadcasters Inc. (CBI) National Student Radio Production Awards Ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Saturday, Oct. 24.

Dr. Chuck G. Bailey, professor of Radio-Television Production and Management in the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Marshall and faculty manager of WMUL-FM, said the contest is in its 13th year and is sponsored by CBI.

“It is an honor to receive two awards granted by this prestigious organization,” Bailey said. “Our radio students at WMUL-FM have established a tradition of being able to compete successfully at the national, regional and state levels with other student-operated college radio stations. This performance is further evidence of the quality of the work performed by our talented broadcasting students against stiff competition.”

The finalist award-winning entries were:

Best Audio Podcast: “The Conference USA Report: Halloween Spooktacular 4,” broadcast Friday, Oct. 31, 2014. The students who participated in this broadcast/podcast were:

Scott Hall, a graduate from Stevens City, Virginia (host)
Adam Rogers, a senior from Charleston (reporter)
Braxton Crisp, a senior from Huntington (reporter)
James Collier, a senior from Worthington, Kentucky (reporter)
Alec Hildebeidel, a junior from Bel Air, Maryland (reporter)
Marquez Davila, a sophomore from Sterling, Virginia (reporter)
Nathan Thomas, a sophomore from Charleston (reporter)

Best Audio Podcast: “The Conference USA Report: Week 6,” broadcast Friday, Oct. 14, 2014. The students who participated in this broadcast/podcast were:

James Collier (host)
Braxton Crisp (reporter)
Alec Hildebeidel (reporter)
Maquez Davila (reporter)
Akira Uchida, a graduate student from Fujimi City, Japan (reporter)
Mercedez Speight, a sophomore from Ranson (reporter)
Nathan Thomas, a sophomore from Charleston (reporter)

Students from WMUL-FM also received one finalist award in the 2015 Pinnacle National Awards Competition. The winners were announced at the 94th Annual Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Advisers National College Media Convention at the Hilton Austin Hotel in Austin, Texas, Friday, Oct. 30.

The Pinnacle National Awards Competition is a contest that recognizes excellence in college student–produced television, radio and online media. It is sponsored by College Media Advisers Inc., the nation’s oldest media advising organization. CMA was founded in 1954.

“This is an outstanding accomplishment to be recognized as having broadcast one of the best promotional announcements in the country,” Bailey said. “This Pinnacle Award is a tribute to the creativity and production skills that our broadcast students possess.”

The finalist award-winning entry was:

Best Radio Promo/PSA: “WMUL Mad Scientist 24-Hour Live Streaming Promo,” an in-house promotional announcement, broadcast in WMUL-FM’s Promotion Announcement rotation from Tuesday, Sept. 2, 2014, to the present time, written and produced by Nick McKendree, a recent graduate from Gallipolis Ferry; Adam Rogers and Bennet Siffrin, a recent graduate from New Martinsville.


Photo: Adam Rogers from WMUL-FM interviews Red Dawson recently on Sportsview.