WMUL crew takes home 14 awards from national conference

Students from WMUL-FM, Marshall University’s public radio station, received six first-place awards and eight honorable mention awards during the National Broadcasting Society/Alpha Epsilon Rho 25th Annual National Student Audio/Video Scriptwriting and 53rd Annual Audio/Video Production Awards Competition ceremony.

The ceremony took place at the Burbank Airport Marriott Hotel in Burbank, California, Wednesday, March 16.

WMUL won first place in the following categories: Audio Feature Package, Audio Newscast, Audio Magazine Program, Website, Audio Sports Package and Audio Promos.

Dr. Chuck G. Bailey, professor of Radio-Television Production and Management in the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Marshall and faculty manager of WMUL-FM, said that the students competed with other broadcasting students from colleges and universities throughout the United States.

“No other school won as many grand prizes or won more overall awards than WMUL-FM’s student broadcasters in the NBS scriptwriting, audio and online categories,” Bailey said. “WMUL-FM student broadcasters were finalists in seven categories and won six grand prizes, which is truly outstanding. Winning at this high a level speaks well for Marshall University, the College of Arts and Media, and the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications, as the student broadcasters of WMUL-FM consistently earn top honors in direct competition with nationally recognized colleges and universities.”

National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho has more than 1,500 student and professional members and has chapters on 68 college campuses. The National Broadcasting Society was founded in 1943, and its mission is to enhance the development of college and university students in telecommunication, broadcasting, cable and other electronic media. Past and present members of the society number more than 50,000.  Alpha Epsilon Rho is the national honorary society composed of members selected from National Broadcasting Society (NBS) Chapters.

For more information about WMUL, visit the award-winning website at www.marshall.edu/wmul.