2020 Black History Poster Competition winners announced

The Dr. Carter G. Woodson Lyceum at Marshall University announced this week the winners of the 2020 Black History Poster Competition.

The winners included:

  • First place overall, Black History Poster Competition winner: Kelly Cattler, Marshall University, with support from Marshall art faculty Kyle Dyer and Tom Suter. She was presented a $200 prize. Honorable Mentions were presented to Andrew Burgess and Ralph May, who each earned $100 prizes.
  • First place elementary school winner: Fifth-grader Addison Dean of Southside Elementary School in Huntington, with support from Southside art teacher Courtney Arnold. Addison won a $100 prize.
  • First place middle school winners (tie): Sixth-grader Harper Armentrout of Barboursville Middle School and eighth-grader Athena Teasley, of Barboursville Middle School, with support from Barboursville Middle School art teacher Jessica Minnix. The students each won a $100 prize.
  • First place high school winners (tie): Ninth-grader Noah M. Ziegler Jr. of Huntington High School and ninth-grader Madison Shuler of Huntington High School, with support from Huntington High art teacher Angela Webb. The students each won a $100 prize.

The posters exemplified the National Black History theme, “African Americans and the Vote.” The Dr. Carter G. Woodson Lyceum at Marshall University, which sponsors the annual competition, is a forum for addressing major issues involving education, race and a free press.

View the presentation here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkzq0N-_TYo&feature=youtu.be


Photos: (Above) 2020 Black History Month Poster Competition winner Kelly Cattler (left), a graphic design student at Marshall University, poses with the winning poster along with Sandra Reed, professor in Marshall’s School of Art and Design Jan. 21, at Marshall University. (Below) Back row, left to right; Courtney Arnold, art teacher at Southside Elementary; Burnis Morris, director of the Dr. Carter G. Woodson Lyceum at Marshall University; Sandra Reed, professor of art at Marshall; Jessica Minnix, art teacher at Barboursville Middle School; Harper Armentrout, student at Barboursville Middle School; Noah M. Ziegler Jr., student at Huntington High; Angela Webb, art teacher at Huntington High; and Madison Shuler, student at Huntington High. Front row: Addison Dean, student at Southside Elementary.