Scholarships & Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate Student

2024 – Evan White

Each year, the CJC faculty select one undergraduate student who has demonstrated not only academic excellence but one who works tirelessly to promote the mission of the program. This student goes above and beyond the requirements of their classes and represents the program as a model student outside the classroom.


Outstanding Graduate Student

2024 – Grace Simpson

Annually, the CJC faculty select one master’s student who has demonstrated not only academic excellence but one who emerges as a leader among their peers. This student is actively engaged in either working, seeking employment in their chosen profession, or furthering their graduate education at the doctoral level.


Margaret Phipps Brown Award for Scholarship & Excellence

2024 – Zoe Pearson

The Margaret Phipps Brown Award for Scholarship & Excellence was established to recognize academic excellence and service to the Omega Gamma chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma (APS), the National Criminal Justice Honor Society, during the academic year.


Sam Dameron Leadership & Service Award

2024 – Dylan Andrus

The Sam Dameron Leadership & Service Award was established to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional leadership skills and excellence in service to the Criminal Justice Association (CJA) during the academic year.


Roger W. Simmons Scholarship

2024 – Aidan McCloud

Roger W. Simmons is a 1972 Marshall Alumni who had a career in Federal Law Enforcement. He was a Special Agent with the Criminal Investigation Division of the U. S. Treasury.  Roger grew up in Huntington and always had a desire to serve in Federal Law Enforcement.  He established this scholarship in 2007 to support criminal justice students and believes in giving back to Marshall University, as it was Marshall that gave him the education to pursue his dream.

Dora L. Simmons Memorial Scholarship

2024 – Trevin Saunders

Dora L. Simmons is the mother of LeRoy and Roger Simmons.  She was a single mother who raised two boys after her husband, Denford, passed away in 1956. She always instilled in her boys the desire to work hard at whatever they did.  This scholarship was established in 2008 to support criminal justice students by Roger, as a tribute to his mother. Roger stated that his mother did not have much of an education but always stressed to him that he needed to go to college. She was a special lady who passed on May 8, 2006.

Jeanette Kitto Schumacher Scholarship

2024 – Brinkley Gibson

Jeanette Kitto Schumacher is a life long resident of Michigan, a mother of four, and a graduate of the University of Michigan-Dearborn. Jeanette was introduced to the history, campus, students, faculty and staff of Marshall University by Roger Simmons. Because of her affection for Huntington, pride in the Herd, and dedication to student success, she was given the opportunity to award a scholarship in her name to students in the Criminal Justice & Criminology program by Mr. Roger Simmons. It was established in 2014.

Glenn W. Burner Memorial Scholarship

2024 – Caitlyn Lewis

After a career as a special agent for the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, Glenn W. Burner retired in 1980 and chose to complete his undergraduate degree in Criminal Justice at Marshall University. Mr. Burner freely shared his experience with the ATF (including his investigation of the explosion at the Mason County, WV jail in 1976) with other students and encouraged many to pursue careers in federal law enforcement. He had nearly completed his Master’s degree in Criminal Justice when he died unexpectedly in 1988. This memorial scholarship is funded by contributions from Burner’s family and friends and is awarded to graduate or undergraduate students, with a preference for those who have worked or are currently working in the criminal justice profession. The scholarship was established in 1988.