About the Alliance


The Alliance for the Economic Development of Southern West Virginia is a collaboration between the 11 higher education institutions in Southern West Virginia. The Alliance will focus on fostering an environment for economic growth. We have the talent, expertise and resources needed to solve our  own challenges and through the Alliance, and we will pool our resources and knowledge to build a stronger southern West Virginia.


Participating Institutions:

Bluefield State College

BridgeValley Community and Technical College

Concord University

Marshall University

Mountwest Community & Technical College

New River Community and Technical College

University of Charleston

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College

West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

West Virginia State University

West Virginia University Institute of Technology




Geographic Area:

The Alliance is focused on a 21-county area:

  • Boone
  • Cabell
  • Clay
  • Fayette
  • Greenbrier
  • Kanawha
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Mason
  • McDowell
  • Mercer
  • Mingo
  • Monroe
  • Nicholas
  • Pocahontas
  • Putnam
  • Raleigh
  • Summers
  • Wayne
  • Webster
  • Wyoming

Our Goal:

The Alliance’s main aim is to learn about all of our existing resources, in regards to education services, workforce training, the talent pool, all available business sites, and the willing partners in southern West Virginia and to promote and utilize these resources in a meaningful way that creates jobs, enhances our businesses sector and competitive edge, ensures our workers have access to the latest training and technology, builds long-lasting partnerships and ultimately revitalizes our small southern communities.

Our Four Working Groups:

  • Prevention, Addiction, Recovery and Reentry
  • Tourism
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Workforce Development