Legislative Branch

Student Senate

Student government senate is an assembly of students that facilitate the development of a sense of joint responsibility of students, faculty members, and administration for the achievement of the university’s educational objectives. The main objective of the senate is to represent and address needs of Marshall University, Huntington region, and West Virginia. The senate is composed of Senators at-large and College Senators from each academic college, all of whom are elected in the SGA elections every spring. The number of College senator representatives are determined by the student population of each academic college.