Council of Chairs Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Council of Chairs Award for Excellence in Teaching has been established to recognize teaching excellence in Marshall University’s full-time term and temporary faculty. Nominations for this award must be submitted by department chairs or the Council of Chairs. Each fall, members of the Council of Chairs (excepting the School of Medicine) will be permitted to nominate up to two candidates from a given department. A $1000 cash award will be presented each year at the Spring General Faculty Meeting.


  • Be in a full-time term or full-time temporary faculty appointment.
  • Have at least two years’ full-time teaching at Marshall University. (A person is first eligible for nomination in the fall of the 3rd year of teaching.)

Please Note: Past winners are eligible to win every five years. For example, a Spring 2016 winner may be renominated in Fall 2020 and win again in Spring 2021. For a list of previous recipients, please visit:


Nomination Form

  • Only members of the Council of Chairs may make a nomination by completing the online form. Self nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nomination deadline: September 15, 2023

Submission Materials

Candidates who accept the nomination will submit documentation of their achievements by October 15, 2023. Required documents include:

  • Chair/supervisor questionnaire completed by the nominating chair.
  • A candidate questionnaire completed by the candidate.
  • A sample syllabus.
  • A sample assignment.

In addition, course evaluation summary sheets for up to three years prior will be solicited directly from Institutional Research.

Evaluation Process

Selection of a faculty member to receive the Council of Chairs Award for Excellence in Teaching is a multi-level process.

  1. The Selection Committee will identify finalists based on a review of the submitted materials. Finalists will be notified by December 2023.
  2. The Selection Committee will observe the classroom teaching of each finalist during Spring 2024.
  3. The winner will be notified in early April 2024 and will be recognized at the Spring General Faculty Meeting.

Please direct questions to:

Dr. April Fugett
Interim Executive Director
Center for Teaching and Learning
Old Main 109