Skip to main content

Zatar to participate in International Bridge Conference, leads key sessions at Transportation Research Board meeting

Dr. Wael Zatar, dean of Marshall University’s College of Information Technology and Engineering, will participate in the 2019 Bridge Engineering Institute Conference, to be sponsored by the Transportation Research Board this summer.

The conference is a forum for international researchers and practitioners around the world who will discuss the latest research and practices on bridge engineering and related fields.

Zatar also recently participated in the 98th annual meeting of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) in Washington, D.C., and serves as the chair for the board’s National Committee on Structural Fiber Reinforced Polymers, Structures Section, and the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. Zatar chaired a meeting on Structural Fiber Reinforced Polymers (FRP) and a session on FRP Composites Innovations and Applications. He also chaired a workshop on Fiber Reinforced Polymer Deployment in Bridges and helped coordinate all the efforts of the fourteen TRB committees within the structures sections.

Zatar has been a member of the TRB committee for 12 years. The National Committee on Structural Fiber Reinforced Polymers, which he chairs, focuses on the development and use of structural applications of fiber-reinforced polymer composites for transportation-related structures, including bridges, maintenance, buildings, pipes, guard rails and more. Zatar organizes meetings, develops research-need statements, arranges for special publications and serves as a liaison with technical committees and constituency groups, including the Federal Highway Administration Fiber-Reinforced Polymer Composites virtual team, the American Concrete Institute and the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials.

The TRB is a division of the National Research Council, a nonprofit institution providing expertise in science and technology to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities. The council is jointly administered by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine.