Holiday Schedule

 


Below are the schedules for the holidays observed by Marshall University. Please note, some holidays are be observed on differing dates due to winter break.

Schedule for July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020

  • Independence Day – Thursday, July 4, 2019
  • Add’l declared by Governor Justice – Friday, July 5, 2019
  • Labor Day – Monday, September 2, 2019
  • Thanksgiving – Thursday, November 28, 2019
  • Lincoln’s Day Observed – Friday, November 29, 2019
  • President’s Day Observed – Monday, December 23, 2019
  • West Virginia Day Observed – Tuesday, December 24, 2019
  • Christmas Day – Wednesday, December 25, 2019
  • Susan B. Anthony Day Observed – Thursday, December 26, 2019
  • Flag Day Observed – Friday, December 27, 2019
  • Veteran’s Day Observed – Monday, December 30, 2019
  • Christmas & New Year’s Eve “half days” Observed (see Note) – Tuesday, December 31, 2019
  • New Year’s Day – Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday – Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Memorial Day – Monday, May 25, 2020

NOTE: When Christmas Day and New Year’s Day fall on a Tuesday through Friday, these are preceded by a half-day each of holidays. Marshall University observes these two half-days as one whole day off. Naming of holidays is in accordance with West Virginia State Code Section 2-2-1.

Holiday Schedule (2019-2020)