Research Scholars Award

General Information
The Research Scholars Award supports undergraduate students in the completion of their capstone projects. Marshall University students working on their capstone projects are eligible to receive up to $250 per academic year. These funds are awarded on a competitive basis. While award funds are largely unrestricted, they are intended to support capstone projects directly. Expected expenditures include, but are not limited to: travel, materials, photocopying, and equipment.

Applications are due the 1st of October and the 1st of April.

Method of Application
1. A complete application form (below) to be used as a cover sheet.

2. A proposal (~1 – 3 pages), written by the applicant, which includes:

a. A project title.
b. A description of the research or creative focus.
c. An outline of the significance of the proposed activity.
d. A project budget including a list of other sources of funding.

3. A letter of support from the applicant’s faculty mentor(s) with mention of the projected benefit of the project to both the student and the institution.

In addition, successful applicants will be required to submit a final project report to the Research Committee outlining the outcome of the funded research or creative effort, no later than the last day of the current academic year. Reports can be submitted via email at

**Note: If you experience trouble submitting this form, please remove all commas from currency values. For example, instead of entering 2,000, enter 2000. Also, please leave out dollar signs. The form will not accept them.

You will receive a confirmation email once your application is successfully submitted. If you did not receive email confirmation, please try resubmitting your application. Please contact us prior to the application deadline, if you experience any problems with your submission.

Go here to start the application.


Other Resources


Old Main 310
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755


Tracy Christofero - Chair
Eryn Roles - Assistant Chair
Sujoy Bose - Recording Secretary


Amie Maynard - Administrative Associate