Academic Planning Committee (APC)

Academic Planning Committee Reports

The Academic Planning Committee shall serve as the major faculty agency for discussion, review and development of recommendations regarding letters of intent to plan new academic programs and degrees (Intent to Plan Guidelines), academic long range planning (mission statements, five year plans, strategic plans and similar major plans, and the reorganization of any academic unit), academic programs needs assessments, and work directly with the University President and Faculty Senate Executive Committee as requested and appropriate. It shall be the function of the Academic Planning Committee to make recommendations about new academic programs and priorities in relation to available resources, receive Departmental Program Review documents, make recommendations concerning the level of action to be recommended by the institution to the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission and the Marshall University Institutional Board of Governors, and respond when appropriate to the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission and the Marshall University Institutional Board of Governors and/or the University President concerning policies relating to academic planning. The Academic Planning Committee will cooperate with administrative officials, university Deans, and the University President on matters relating to academic planning. When appropriate, the Academic Planning Committee may seek external review teams for evaluation purposes for new program proposals.
Sean McBride Liaison FS (22-24) 1st N/A
Sandra Reed Art & Design CAM (21-25) 1st 1
Isaac Wait Weisberg Division of Engineering CECS (21-25) 1st 1
Mindy Allenger Education COEPD (19-23) 1st (23-27) 2nd 2
Gretchen Prather Physical Therapy COHP (22-26) 1st 1
Damien Arthur Political Science COLA (23-27) 1st 1
VACANT COS (17-21) 1st, (21-25) 2nd 2
Marc Sollosy Management & Health Care Admin COB (22-26) 1st 1
Alip Borthakur Clinical and Translational Science SOM (23-27) 1st 1
Michael Hambuchen Pharmaceutical Science SOP (20-24) 1st 1
Stephen Tipler (Chair) University Libraries ULIB (17-21) 1st, (21-25) 2nd 2

Appointed Students, Nonvoting Members

Jayln Armstrong SGA Representative Student
TO BE APPOINTED SGA Representative Grad Student


Ex-Officio, Nonvoting Members

Avinandan Mukherjee Provost and Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs
Bill Noe Chief Aviation Officer
Maria Gindhart CAM Dean
David Dampier CECS Dean
Don Capener COB Dean
Teresa Eagle COEPD Dean
Michael Prewitt COHP Dean
Robert Bookwalter COLA Dean
Wesley Stites COS Dean
Brian Hoey Honors College Dean
David Gozal SOM Dean
Eric R. Blough SOP Dean
Monica Brooks ULIB Dean
Brian Morgan Vice President of Institutional Research
Mary Beth Reynolds Director, Assessment & Program Review


Other Resources


Old Main 310
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755


Shawn Schulenberg - Chair
Eryn Roles - Assistant Chair
Sujoy Bose - Recording Secretary


Zelideth Rivas - Parliamentarian


Hailey Bibbee - Office Administrator