Research Committee Funding

General Information
The Research Committee has been given responsibility for recommending the disbursement of funds to support research. This source of funding is distinct from other Marshall funding mechanism. The purpose of Research Committee Funding is to assist Marshall University researchers in the conduction of their scholarly activities. This document was prepared to allow uniformity in the application process and to ensure equitable distribution of these funds. The Research Committee has also provided as part of this application form a summary of the criteria that will guide the Committee in making awards. Each researcher should be aware that in addition to this application the Committee may seek additional information to amplify the request. Except in exceptional circumstances, awards will be limited to $500 in any academic year. Please note, gift cards are not eligible for reimbursement.

All full-time faculty who complete this application for a specific project and include the required attachments are eligible to receive Research Committee Funding. Graduate students are also eligible if this application is completed on behalf of the student by the faculty member who is responsible for directing that student’s research. The faculty member must serve as the student’s sponsor for the project. The project cannot be funded by other Marshall funding mechanism.

The committee reviews applications three times per year, and the deadlines for submissions are: October 1st and April 1st.

Note: If you experience trouble submitting this form, please remove all commas from currency values. For example, instead of entering 2,000, enter 2000. Also, please leave out dollar signs. The form will not accept them.

You will receive a confirmation email once your application is successfully submitted. If you did not receive email confirmation, please try resubmitting your application. Please contact us prior to the application deadline, if you experience any problems with your submission.

Go here to start the application.


Other Resources


Old Main 310
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755


Tracy Christofero - Chair
Eryn Roles - Assistant Chair
Sujoy Bose - Recording Secretary


Amie Maynard - Administrative Associate