MU Diversity Awards

The Marshall University Diversity Awards recognize students, staff, and faculty who have helped to cultivate an inclusive campus environment by celebrating, supporting, or enhancing diversity on or off campus.  The $500 award is given annually to one individual from each of the following categories:

  • Students
  • Faculty
  • Full-Time Staff

 To be considered a candidate for the award, the nominee must meet ONE of the following four criteria:

– Individual who has advocated for diversity, equality, and inclusion of underrepresented groups and/or social justice
– Individual who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to the advancement of cultural diversity and inclusion at Marshall University or in the surrounding communities
– Individual who has implemented or sponsored an event which cultivates diversity and inclusion
– Individual who has demonstrated respect or inclusive treatment when interacting with others

Please note that the Marshall University Diversity awards are intended for those who go above and beyond their assigned duties to promote diversity and inclusion. Employees who have diversity education, management, or compliance as their primary or secondary job responsibilities are not eligible for the award unless they have made an extraordinary contribution beyond their employment role.