American Advertising Federation

AMERICAN ADVERTISING FEDERATION (AAF) or “Ad Club” is the nation’s largest student advertising organization. Ad Club members travel and learn in a first-hand advertising experience. AAF builds the bridge to professional practice. This year, the Marshall AAF team is claiming “16th in the nation” after competing at the AAF’s National Student Advertising Competition in Orlando, FL.

State Farm, Coca Cola, Toyota, Saturn, Burger King, Visa, Pizza Hut and Bank of America are a few of the outstanding companies that provided rigorous challenges as national sponsors. Campaigns consisit of searching a client’s target market and product, analyzing market situations, designing media plans and producing creative media, all within a defined budget.

Marshall’s AAF chapter, housed in the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications, has a thirty-seven year history. Since 1973, Marshall has placed among the top four at district competitions fifteen times, with four first place finishes, and four trips to the national competition representing District Five.

Five Marshall AAF members have earned the prestigious and highly competitive, Vance Stickell
Summer Internship, taking them to TV Guide and Newsday in New York City, the Los Angeles Times in Los Angeles, California and Slingshot Advertising in Dallas, Texas.

Several MU AFF members have earned honors at the Annual Regional ADDY Awards – the world’s largest advertising competition.

Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)

The Marshall University chapter of the PUBLIC RELATIONS STUDENT SOCIETY OF AMERICA (PRSSA) is one of more than 200 chapters of the national, pre-professional organization for students with interests in public relations. PRSSA members at Marshall University have many opportunities to enhance their public relations studies through scholarships and awards, travel, access to national mailing lists, newsletters and real-world experience through case study competitions. Upon graduation, PRSSA seniors have the opportunity to become associate members through a substantial membership discount for young professionals.

Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ)

The SOCIETY OF PROFESSIONAL JOURNALISTS (SPJ) is the world’s largest journalistic organization. Both professional and student chapters work to fulfill the society’s missions—the promotion of ethical journalism and freedom of information. The Marshall University Student Chapter has been widely recognized over the years for its quality programs and participation in the Society’s activities. Members are initiated once each semester in the Marshall chapter and participate in a number of programs throughout the year promoting quality journalism. Students and faculty members also attend regional and national conventions of the society. Region IV, to which the Marshall chapter belongs, consists of all student and professional chapters in West Virginia, Ohio, Michigan and western Pennsylvania.
SPJ Blog Network

National Broadcasting Society (NBS)

The NATIONAL BROADCASTING SOCIETY (NBS) purpose is to develop college and university students involved in broadcasting, cable, telecommunications and other electronic media by: promoting excellence, providing opportunities for ethical and responsible leadership, providing exposure to the electronic media industries, assisting in career preparation, and providing opportunities for and encouraging the development of members through advanced media education programs and community service at chapter, district, regional and national levels. Alpha Epsilon Rho is the honor society within the National Broadcasting Society. Its membership is restricted to the “best of the best” found within the membership ranks of NBS. Students in Marshall’s chapter regularly attend the NBS National Convention. Our students are exceedingly successful in NBS competitions, winning more grand prizes in audio and web
than any other university.

Contact Us

Communications Building
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755

Phone: 304-696-2360

Web: Contact Form

Directory: Our Team

The latest news
MUJMC Society
Retro Day 2024 is coming!