Leadership Team

  • Are you a soon-to-be freshman in the Marching Thunder?
  • Full of questions and not sure where to turn for answers?
  • What is it like to be a member of The Marching Thunder?
  • How can I get involved?

Relax…we have answers. Even veteran members need to ask a question or two before camps or rehearsals begin. This year’s Marching Thunder Leadership Team information is provided below for all current and prospective members. We welcome your questions, concerns, and ideas for participation and/or involvement. For quick information, you can also visit our FAQ page.

General questions may be directed to the Director of Athletic Band, Dr. Christopher Schletter. However, if you have specific questions regarding your section, your best bet will usually be to contact your section leaders.

The 2021-2022 Service Leadership Team

Drum Majors

Griffin Aliff
aliffg@live.marshall.edu

Nate Hunting
hunting3@marshall.edu

Maddie Rood
rood6@live.marshall.edu

Flutes

TBD

Clarinets

Madalyn Hale
hale180@marshall.edu

Gigi Ortiz
ortiz12@marshall.edu

Alto Saxophones

Mackenzie Wise
wise72@marshall.edu

Tenor Saxophones

Kirsten Campbell
campbell326@marshall.edu

Trumpets

Ariel Harper
harper256@marshall.edu

Sarah Petrea
petrea@marshall.edu

Mellophones

Evan Gissel
gissel2@marshall.edu

Trombone

Brett Somerville
somerville31@live.marshall.edu

Baritone

Liv Ramey
ramey151@live.marshall.edu

Sousaphone/Bari Saxes

Jalen Porter
porter285@marshall.edu

Battery Percussion

TBD

Front Ensemble

TBD

Color Guard

Gabby Casey
casey54@live.marshall.edu

Samantha Rose
rose212@live.marshall.edu

Shelby Zerkle
zerkle16@live.marshall.edu

Majorettes

Catherine Blankenship
blankensh403@marshall.edu

Anna Preston
preston79@marshall.edu

Savannah Rose
rose225@live.marshall.edu

Upcoming Wind Band Performances

All concerts can be found on our YouTube Channel here.

April 15th – The Wind Symphony presents their final performance of the season, “Concert of Soloists.” Thank you all for attending.
You can watch the concert again here.

Thursday, April 22nd – Symphonic Band presents their final performance of the season, “Air, Land, and Sea.”

You can watch the concert again here.

News

Marching Thunder Events

Fall 2021 Performance Schedule
This schedule is subject to change over the course of the summer
at MU unless otherwise noted)

August

11 Leadership Day Camp
12 Band Camp Begins
20 Freshman March (Drum Line Only)
21 Friends and Family Performance

September
11 vs N.C. Central
28 Kanawha Gazette-Mail Band & Majorette Festival Exhibition
18 vs East Carolina

October
9 vs Old Dominion
16 Tri-State Marching Championships
24 vs FIU (Possible Homecoming)

November
13 vs UAB
27 vs Western Kentucky

December
4 C-USA Championship (TBA)
Post-season Bowl Game (location/Date TBA)