Jacqueline Agesa Becomes Associate Dean of the LCOB

j-agesa-200x300Jacqueline Agesa has been appointed as Associate Dean of the Lewis College of Business beginning July 1, 2015. Jacqueline previously served as Interim Associate Dean from 2012-2013. She joined the College in 2000 and is currently a full professor of Finance. During her tenure she has received the Outstanding Untenured Faculty Member, the Outstanding Teacher, and the Outstanding Researcher awards in the College.

“It is a privilege to serve as an Associate Dean of the Lewis College of Business at Marshall University.  The Lewis College of Business is AACSB accredited. AACSB accreditation is the highest standard of achievement for business schools world-wide. The ability to achieve and maintain AACSB accreditation is indicative of the high quality faculty in the College and their commitment to continuously improve the curriculum and learning environment. The Lewis College of Business is committed to student success and increased engagement with the academic and business community to formulate innovative and impactful initiatives.”

Says Jacqueline as she gears up for this new position, “Keep an eye on the Lewis College of Business. Our best days are ahead.”

Summer Research Awards Announcement

The Lewis College of Business sees how critical it is for faculty to conduct scholarly research, so each year the College financially supports projects through Summer Research Awards. Members of the College’s Faculty Development Committee and Dean Haiyang Chen are pleased to announce the following 2015 award winners:

  • RISHAV BISTA, Assistant Professor, Economics
  • JONATHAN BUTLER, Assistant Professor, Management
  • BEN ENG, Assistant Professor, Marketing
  • ANIL GURUNG, Associate Professor, Management Information Systems
  • MOHAMMAD KARIM, Assistant Professor, Finance
  • DR. WAI KWAN (ELAINE) LAU, Assistant Professor, Management

LCOB Professor Richard Agesa Awarded Highest Faculty Honor

r-agesa-200x300Richard U. Agesa, professor of economics, has been selected as the Elizabeth McDowell Lewis Endowed Chair. The Endowed Chair was bestowed on Professor Agesa based on his sustained research in quality nationally and internationally recognized economic s journals, his passion for teaching, and his dedication to service in the Lewis College of Business and Marshall University.

“I am honored and humbled to be a recipient of this Endowed Chair position. The position has endless possibilities and opportunities. I am excited about the high expectations, responsibilities, and challenges that lie ahead. I look forward to providing leadership and mentorship in research, teaching, and service. I also look forward to being a catalyst for change especially during this period as we implement the Lewis College of Business strategic plan that relies on three basic themes: ENGAGEMENT with students, staff, faculty and with the business community; INNOVATION in research, teaching, and interaction with the business community; and IMPACT on students, the business community, and on the tristate economy and beyond.”

Continue reading…

International Cooperation Agreement Signed

The Sunshine Ambassador Cooperation Agreement was signed between Marshall University (MU) and Zhejiang Normal University (ZJNU).

The purpose of the agreement is to increase opportunities for matriculated ZJNU students to study at MU after their initial two years of study at ZJNU. Meeting admission standards of MU, the students will be admitted into the undergraduate degree program in MU Lewis College of Business (LCOB) to continue their study. Credits earned at ZJNU will be accepted by MU as the MU equivalent and used toward meeting MU graduation requirements. The graduates from the LCOB will earn bachelor degrees from MU. Qualified graduates can apply and be admitted into graduate programs in the LCOB. They will be able to earn a master degree after completing additional 36 graduate credit hours.

There are twenty-two students enrolled in the inaugural program starting fall 2016 (for a current list of the students click here). Congratulations to the enrolled students and we look forward to hearing from you and assisting you in the coming years.