Marshall University School of Pharmacy offers a variety of student scholarships which recognize characteristics such as academic performance, commitment to diversity, leadership, and financial need, and we continue to cultivate additional awards. In fact, we are pleased to announce a new series of Metro Scholarships for students living in surrounding metro counties.  Donors represent pharmacy professionals and corporations, community leaders, and local philanthropists. Our faculty and staff believe so strongly in supporting your education, that we also have several employees funded scholarships.

Incoming and current students fill out one scholarship application to be considered for all eligible scholarships. The Office of Student Affairs works with the Student Affairs Committee to determine scholarship eligibility based on the information provided in the application. The deadline for all institutional scholarship applications is March 1 of each year.

Students currently enrolled in PharmD courses will receive notification of scholarships at the Awards Ceremony in April of each year.

Newly admitted students who will begin the program in the next Fall semester do not need to complete a scholarship application. These students will be notified of scholarships as awarded and will be formally recognized at the White Coat Ceremony.

Questions should be submitted to the MU School of Pharmacy Scholarship email at


Current Listing of MUSOP Scholarships

  • Advantage Toyota Scholarship
  • CVS Bilingual Scholarship Award
  • CVS Pharmacy Scholarship Award
  • D. Joanne and F. Gordon Yingling Scholarship
  • Early Decision Scholarship
  • Fruth Pharmacy Scholarship for the Marshall University School of Pharmacy
  • Gateway Scholarship
  • HSTA Scholarship
  • John and Donna Underwood Scholarship
  • Marshall University School of Pharmacy Dean’s Scholarship Award
  • Marshall University School of Pharmacy Diversity Scholarship Award
  • Marshall University School of Pharmacy Don Perdue Award
  • Marshall University School of Pharmacy Leadership Scholarship Award
  • Marshall School of Pharmacy Metro Scholarships
  • School of Pharmacy Scholarship Award
  • Marshall University School of Pharmacy Stephen J Kopp Academic Excellence Award
  • Mary H. and Churchill Hodges Scholarship
  • Mary H. Hodges School of Pharmacy Scholarship
  • Pharmily Scholarship
  • Pioneer in Pharmacy Scholarship
  • Professional Development Scholarship
  • Rural Health Pharmacy Practice Scholarship
  • Trivillian’s Scholarship
  • Walgreens Diversity Scholarship
  • W. B. “Bart” and Doris Andrews Scholarship for the Marshall University School of Pharmacy

NOTE: Not all scholarships may be available each academic year based on renewal criteria and availability of funds.

For additional scholarship information, including the application process, student eligibility, renewal status, and award amount, please click here

External Scholarship Opportunities

The Marshall University School of Pharmacy (MUSOP) is committed to assisting our students both academically and financially.

Following is a list of external scholarships for students who are currently enrolled in an accredited pharmacy school. It’s important to note that these scholarships may be subject to changes by the organizations offering them and students should verify the details independently.

These scholarships are not managed by Marshall University School of Pharmacy, please contact the awarding organization for more information. This is not an exhaustive list, please conduct your own research for scholarship opportunities as well.


AFPE First Year Graduate School Fellowships

The American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE) First Year Graduate School Fellowships are targeted for students who are members of Kappa Epsilon, Phi Lambda Sigma, and Rho Chi who plan to pursue a PhD in pharmaceutical science. To be eligible, you must be a pharmacy student in your final year who is a member of one of the aforementioned organizations, as well as plan to pursue full-time graduate (PhD) study in the year the award is made.

The award consists of $7500 that may be used for any purpose decided by the awardee and faculty sponsor.

Application information may be accessed at


American Pharmacists Association Foundation Student Scholarship Program

The APhA Foundation Student Scholarship Program recognizes students who choose to invest their time in their school’s APhA – ASP chapter to help shape the future of the profession while managing the demands of a full-time pharmacy curriculum. Applicants will be evaluated on their potential to become leaders for the profession of pharmacy, as demonstrated by involvement in school and community activities and academic performance.

For more information go to:


American Society of Health System Pharmacists Student Leadership Awards

The ASHP Student Leadership Award Program recognizes students with an interest in pharmacy practice in health-systems who have demonstrated leadership ability. This program recognizes and celebrates the contributions of students who represent the very best attributes and accomplishments of ASHP student members. ASHP offers up to twelve awards annually. Pharmacy students in the second through fourth professional years are eligible to apply.

For more information go to:


Express Scripts Scholars

The Express Scripts Scholars program provides four (4) $10,000 scholarships to enrolled dual degree students. The program gives special consideration to low socioeconomic status students, as well as those who are underrepresented minorities.

For more information, visit


Health Professions Scholarship Program

The HPSP is available for students who are commissioned officers pursuing advanced degrees in medicine, dentistry, veterinary science, psychiatric nursing, optometry or psychology

For more information go to:


National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation Scholarships

Presidential Scholarships

For more information:


William B. Simmons Memorial Scholarship

For more information:



For more information:


Tylenol Future Care Scholarships

Sponsored by McNeil Consumer Healthcare, these scholarships are for undergraduates and graduate students in medicine and health care. They recognize academic excellence, leadership and community involvement. To apply, you must be a resident of the U.S.; enrolled in a health care related field at an accredited college or university, graduate school or vocational/technical school; and have one year remaining in your program.

For more information go to: