Page may be out of date
This page has not been updated in the last 5 years. The content on this page may be incorrect. If you have any questions please contact the web team.

1996 Hall of Fame

Regina K. (Jerry) Zitter

Regina K. (Jerry) Zitter is well known for her business acumen and philanthropic activities. She established and is president of Sterling Industrial Products in Charleston, WV and president of Sterling Supply Company in Huntington, WV. in 1991, she was named “Business Women Advocate of the Year” by the US. Small Business Administration. She established the Anne Klim Scholarship and the John William Garrett, Jr. Memorial Scholarship at St. Joseph’s Central Catholic High School which named the school’s library in her honor. Mrs. Zitter endowed the Maudella Taylor Foundation at the Scott Community Center. She is currently “a member of Marshall University’s John Marshall Society, the Carter Woodson Foundation and serves as Vice President of the Foundation of the Tri State Community where she established the Zitter Fund.

Lyell B Clay

Lyell B Clay is a Charleston civic leader, attorney and former publisher of the Charleston Daily mail. He is well known as an accomplished musician and composer. Clay was named “West Virginian of the Year” by the Charleston Gazette in 1992 and received the Kanawha valley’s “Spirit of the valley” award in 1993 for his involvement in numerous charitable and community social agencies. Clay graduated from the university of Virginia School of Law and received a master’s degree from Marshall university. He was in the private practice of law and serves on the University’s institutional board of Advisors. He is a Chairman of the Board of Advisors. He is Chairman of the board of Clay foundation. Former Chairman of the Clay communications and has served as Director of the American Newspaper publishers association. Marshall University awarded him an honorary doctorate of music degree at the 1995 commencement.


John Deaver Drinko

John Deaver Drinko is an internationally known attorney in Cleveland, Ohio and senior partner in Baker and Hostetler Law Firm. He graduated from Marshall University in 1942 with a BA degree. He has made significant financial contributions to Marshall University, has provided leadership and support to important programs, including most recently the new Library and the John Deaver Drinko Academy for American Political Institutions and Civic Culture. In addition, he has endowed chairs and programs at many other colleges and universities across the nation. Drinko received his law degree from Ohio State University which has dedicated its law buildings in his honor. Drinko’s many honors include Marshall University Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1991. He is a member of the John Marshall Society and the Marshall University Foundation, Inc.

Ernest L. Hogan

Ernest L. Hogan is retired president, chairman and CEO of People’s security life insurance company. He was the first employee of the 80-year-old company to start out as an agent and work up to the company’s highest level of management. Hogan began as a salesman for Peoples Life in Beckley in 1935. He retired in 1978 after 43 years with the company. His impact on the insurance industry was demonstrated in 1993 when he was honored as “man of the Year” by the Life Insurance Conference. Hogan holds an honorary Doctor of Law Degree from West Virginia University. He is a major contributor to higher education in his native state and in Kentucky. He established a $1 million trust for a Chair of Private Enterprise at Marshall’s College of Business as well as a planned scholarship program for West Virginia high school graduates. He is a member of Marshall University’s John Marshall Society.

Marshall T. Reynolds

Marshall T. Reynolds is a dynamic Huntington entrepreneur and philanthropist. His business holdings include Chapman Printing, Champion Industries, the Radisson Hotel, McCorkle Machine and Engineering and Kyowva Corrugated Container Company. His wide-spread enterprises are located not only in West Virginia and the surrounding states, but Louisiana and Mississippi as well. He served as chairman of the state’s largest bank holding company prior to its sale to banc One. His list of philanthropic activities includes the Chairmanship of the United Way of the River Cities, the Boys and girls Clubs of Huntington and Spring Hill Elementary School. He is listed in Who’s Who in America and Who’s who in Manufacturing. He is a member of Marshall University’s John Marshall Society and the Marshall University Foundation, Inc.

AACSB Accredited

LCOB Social Media

LCOB Twitter Feed

Monday Morning Memo

LCOB Contact Info

Marshall University
Lewis College of Business
Office: 107 Corbly Hall
Phone: 304-696-2314